## IRELAND CANADA UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION



## **Dobbin Scholarships 2012 - 2013**

The Ireland Canada University Foundation offers an annual programme of scholarly exchange awards open to all academic disciplines, between the universities of Canada and Ireland. Founded in 1993 by Dr. Craig Dobbin of Newfoundland and Dr. Patrick Hillery, former President of Ireland, the Foundation was recognised also in a Memorandum of Understanding in 2004 by the Taoiseach, Mr. Bertie Ahern T.D. and Canadian Prime Minister, Rt. Hon. Paul Martin M.P.

These scholarships are tenable for travel from Ireland to Canadian universities, in order to support the scholars' research on a topic relating to both countries. The scholarships fund short periods of exchange, typically one month, are valued at  $\in$ 5,000, and are targeted at scholars in the early stages of their research career. The scholarships are generously sponsored by Craig C. Dobbin, with the assistance of the Government of Canada / avec l'appui du Gouvernement du Canada, and the Irish Government and by:



## Canada



AN ROINN GNÓTHAÍ EACHTRACHA AGUS TRÁDÁLA NA hÉIREANN DEPARTMENT OF FOREIGN AFFAIRS AND TRADE OF IRELAND

Further information and Application Forms are available at:

www.icuf.ie

## **Closing date for Applications: 5pm on Friday, March 30th, 2012**

Board Chairmen: Mr. Mark Dobbin (Canada), Prof. W. J. Smyth (Ireland)Directors: Prof. John Kelly (Executive), Dr. Desmond Green, Mr. Rupert Hamilton, Mr. Oliver Murray, Prof. Ken Ozmon O.C., Mr. Michael Phillips, Prof. Vera Regan, Prof. William Schabas O.C.