TY Awards 2019

TY Awards 2019

The DCU Access TY Awards 2019 took place on Tuesday 30th April in The Helix, DCU, and were attended by over 700 students and teachers from across North Dublin. Each year the TY Awards celebrate the achievements of transition year students and schools who participate in the TY programme

DCU Access Partner schools during the 2018-19 academic year were:

Prof. Brian MacCraith

  • Beneavin De La Salle College, Dublin 11
  • Cabra Community College, Dublin 7
  • Chanel College, Dublin 5
  • Coláiste Eoin, Cappagh Road, Dublin 11
  • Donahies Community School, Dublin 13
  • Grange Community College, Dublin 13
  • Margaret Aylward Community College, Whitehall, Dublin 9
  • Mercy College Coolock, Dublin 5
  • New Cross College, Finglas, Dublin 11
  • Rosmini Community School, Gracepark Road, Drumcondra, Dublin 9
  • St. Aidan's CBS, Dublin 9
  • St. David's CBS, Dublin 5
  • Darran HeaneySt. Finian's Community College, Swords, Co Dublin
  • St. Kevin's College, Dublin 11
  • St. Mary's Holy Faith Glasnevin, Dublin 11
  • St. Mary's Holy Faith Killester, Dublin 5
  • St. Michael's Holy Faith, Finglas, Dublin 11
  • St. Vincent's Secondary School, Dublin 11
  • Trinity Comprehensive, Dublin 9

Prof. Deirdre Butler

From the 96 entries submitted, awards were presented for video projects in the Multimedia Module in five categories:

  • Children’s Rights
    • Winner: “Behind Closed Doors”, St. Mary’s Holy Faith Glasnevin
    • Runner-up: “Difference”, Grange CC
    • Runner-up: “It’s Your Right”, Grange CC
  • Social Innovation
    • Winner: “Souper Soup”, New Cross College
    • Runner-up: “Car Emissions”, St. Finian’s CC
  • Bravery
    • Winner: “What it means to be Brave”, Mercy College Coolock
    • Runner-up: “Saoirse’s Video”, Rosmini CS
  • Production Values
    • Winner, Narrative Production: “Brave Sarah”, St. Mary’s Holy Faith Killester
    • Winner, Production Quality: “All it takes is One Friend”, Coláiste Eoin
  • Most Viewed
    • Winner: “Saoirse’s Video”, Rosmini CS

Our sincere thanks go to Prof. Brian MacCraith, President of DCU, for his opening address, to Dr. Niall Muldoon, Ombudsman for Children, for his keynote address, to Deirdre Walsh (Amnesty International), Barry Peak (Young Social Innovators), Donal Millugan and Ferdia McAnna (DCU School of Communications) who judged and presented the Awards.


9th May, 2019

How can we help