Primary Schools | Access

Primary Schools Programme

The aim of the Primary School Programme is to help pupils who have the potential to progress to further education but may face various economic, educational and social challenges in achieving their goals. Our aim is to support schools in tackling educational disadvantage and in promoting positive attitudes to education in the community.

Linked Schools

The DCU Access Service Schools Programme works with 41 primary schools in the North Dublin area. These schools are located within three Local Area Partnership boundaries: Ballymun, Finglas-Cabra and Northside.

Centre for Academic Achievement after-school classes

The Centre for Academic Achievement (CAA) programme has allowed over 1,000 primary school students from north Dublin DEIS schools to attend special classes at DCU since the programme was established in 2006. The programme is a collaboration between the Access Service and the Irish Centre for Talented Youth (CTYI) at DCU. The goal is to encourage students who traditionally would not have access to university towards an academic path and to fulfil their potential.