Accessibility     Accessibility |
My DCU | Library | Loop |

☰       Department Menu

School of Chemical Sciences

Chemical Sciences - Adaptive Sensors Group


People

 

Principal Investigator

Prof. Dermot Diamond

Profile

dermot.diamond@dcu.ie

Projects

Project Managers / Senior Research Fellows

Dr. Shirley Coyle

Wearable Sensors and Smart Fabrics

shirley.Coyle@dcu.ie

Project

 

 

 

 

Group Administrators

Angela Lally

 

angela.lally@dcu.ie

 

Deirdre Sheridan

 

deirdre.sheridan@dcu.ie

 

Margaret Malone

 

margaret.malone@dcu.ie

 

Team Leaders

Dr. Margaret McCaul

Sensing Platform Development & Validation

margaret.mccaul@dcu.ie

  • Design, fabrication and analytical validation of autonomous chemical sensing platforms for monitoring key health and environmental parameters
  • Co-ordination of on-body trials of wearable sensors for personal health monitoring  
  • Co-ordination of in-situ sensor deployments with remote sensing to track spatial distribution and dynamics of key water quality parameters 

Dr. Simon Coleman

Materials integration and platform design

simon.coleman@dcu.ie

  • Leading integration team in platform design for miniaturisation, automation and simplification of microfluidic devices 
  • Incorporation of emerging novel materials in collaboration with materials chemistry team.  
  • Development and testing of prototype devices for applications in analytical, environmental, medical and wearables sectors.

Dr. Larisa Florea

 Materials Chemistry

larisa.florea@dcu.ie

  • Synthesis and Characterisation of Novel (bio)materials and their Assembly using 3D Microfabrication Technologies.
  • Novel Functional Materials as Sensors and Actuators in Microfluidic Devices.
  • Wearable Sensors: Integration of Novel Materials in Sensors and Microsystems Technologies for Personalised Sensing.

 

Post-Doctoral Researchers

Dr. Colm Delaney

 

colm.delaney@dcu.ie

 

Dr. Peter McCluskey

 

peter.mccluskey@dcu.ie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Post Graduate Researchers

Jennifer Deignan

 

jennifer.deignan2@mail.dcu.ie

 

Aishling Dunne

 

aisling.dunne@dcu.ie

 

Danielle Bruen

 

danielle.bruen2@mail.dcu.ie

 

Wayne Francis

 

wayne.francis2@mail.dcu.ie

 

Tom Glennon

 

thomas.glennon2@mail.dcu.ie

 

Anna Karabin

 

akarabin@tellab.ie

 

Research Assistants

David Boyle

 

david.boyle26@mail.dcu.ie

 

Sean Jordan

 

sean.jordan@dcu.ie

 

 

 

 

 

Interns

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Past Group Members

Nameer Alhashimy

Jack Barland

Cormac Fay

Vincenzo Curto

Salzitsa Anastasova

Giusy Matzeu

Valdemaras Abromaitis

Monika Czugala

Susan Baldwin

Deirdre Cogan

Conor O'Quigley

Damien Maher

Caroline Barry

Kevin Fraser

Jack Barland

John Paul Healy 

Sarah Brady

Deirdre Winrow

Giusy Matzeu

Oksana Yavorska

Robert Byrne

Kevin Murphy

Deirdre Cogan

Ekaterina Nesterenko

Karl Crowley

Jack Barland

Kevin Fraser

Sarah Clarke

Gene Dalton

Giusy Matzeu

Deirdre Winrow

Rory Gibney

Valerie Favry

Carlos Rovira Borras

Kevin Murphy

Patrick Floris

June Frisby

Breda Kiernan

John Cleary

Simon Gallagher

Sonia Ramirez-Garcia

Fiachra Collins

Michele Zanoni

Adelheid Walther

Jer Hayes (IBM)

Daniel Kim

Bartosz Ziolkowski

Mercedes Vazquez

Deirdre Morris

Fiona Blighe

Dylan Orpen

Fernando Benito Lopez

Andy Kavanagh

Conor Slater

Silvia Scarmagnani

Xu-Yuan Peng

Emer Lahiff

Ciaran Smyth

Ben Schazmann

Thomas Phelan

Aogan Lynch

Shannon Stitzel

Yuliya Shakalisava

Aleksandar Radu

Clare McDaniel

Rachel Wall

Roderick Shepherd

Tanja Radu

Christina McGraw

Martina O'Toole

LorraineNolan

Eoghan McNamara

Gillian McMahon

Alexis Pacquit

Colm O'Neill

 Aymen Ben Azouz

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Former Visiting Research Fellows

Wiemin Guo

Isabel Ma Perez de Vargas Sansalvador

Alexandre Hennart

Steve Edwards

Richard Wu

Vincent Morin