Teachers Inspire

Organised and run by Dublin City University, Teachers Inspire is an Ireland-wide initiative that seeks to celebrate teachers and recognise the transformative role they play in our lives and in our communities. 

At a special ceremony in Dublin City University, hosted by RTÉ broadcaster Miriam O’Callaghan with Irish author Louise O'Neill, Ruairí Farrell (Principal of Greystones Community College, Co. Wicklow), Jennifer Hutton (teacher at St. Fiacc’s National School, Graigecullen, Co. Carlow), Gemma Maher (Principal of Educate Together National School, Rathcoole, Co. Dublin) and Joe McAndrew (Retired Principal from Banagher National School, Co. Mayo) were awarded for the inspirational role they played in the lives of their students. 

President's Awards for Teaching Excellence

These awards celebrate the University's commitment to transformative teaching and learning.

Recipients of the DCU President’s Awards for Teaching Excellence 2023 were announced at a ceremony held at the university’s Glasnevin campus on 18 May. The annual awards recognise the excellence, innovation and commitment of staff involved directly or indirectly with teaching at the University. 

Dr Dawn Wheatley, Aoife Barry and Ivanna Youtchak

Dr Dawn Wheatley, Aoife Barry and Ivanna Youtchak

The University Events team supported the launch of Social media and online hostility: Experiences of women in Irish journalism at the Royal Irish Academy on 16 May. The report by Dr Dawn Wheatley from the School of Communications at Dublin City University describes how women journalists in Ireland are navigating social media as part of their professional work, and it documents the pressure and negative experiences that can come with being active in digital spaces.

spring graduations

Three ceremonies took place in the Mahony Hall in the Helix, featuring students from the university’s five faculties.

Over 1,000 graduates receive their parchments at the March graduation ceremonies held in the Helix on Dublin City University's Glasnevin campus. Three ceremonies took place in the Mahony Hall, featuring students from the university’s five faculties: DCU Business School, the Institute of Education, the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, the Faculty of Science and Health, and the Faculty of Engineering and Computing.