DIPC / IoE Piano Recital

B108 - Auditorium
Target Audience
All Welcome
Is registration required?
Free of charge or ticket price
Free of charge
For more information contact
DIPC / IoE Piano Recital

The Dublin International Piano Competition (DIPC) in conjunction with the Institute of Education invites you to a piano recital. The recital is part of an ongoing Music Education Project supported by the DIPC which engages with student teachers and primary schools. In early 2016, the Dublin International Piano Competition launched a pilot project to support and equip student teachers to teach primary school children about piano music. The music project was made available as an elective to student teachers who used new resources including multimedia to teach primary school pupils about piano music and through the project the DIPC also support piano recitals in schools . In this way the DIPC project supports the music curriculum in primary schools, particularly in the area of performance.

Information about the Pianist:
Seán Morgan-Rooney recently completed his studies at the Royal Academy of Music in London where he was a student of Professor Christopher Elton. Seán is a multi-faceted pianist who has performed as both soloist and chamber musician across Ireland and abroad. He has appeared as soloist with the Hibernia Orchestra in Dublin, the Camerata Ireland Orchestra, the Torún Symphony Orchestra in Poland, the Hornton Chamber Orchestra in London and the Ulster Orchestra. He is the winner of numerous prizes for his solo playing, including the Charles J. Brennan Prize at the 2015 Dublin International Piano Competition and the Else Cross prize for contemporary music awarded by the Royal Academy of Music. He is also a past winner of the Northern Ireland Young Musician of the Year competition and a past piano finalist of the BBC Young Musician of the Year competition. He currently studies under the Dutch pianist David Kuijken at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam.


Bach/ Petri: Sheep May Safely Graze

Ligeti: No 7 from Musica Ricercata

Chopin: Preludes Op 28 nos 7-12