Accessibility     Accessibility |
My DCU | Library | Loop |

☰       Department Menu




President's Awards for Teaching and Learning 2009
19 May 2009

Prof Richard O'Kennedy (centre) pictured with the award winners Blánaid White, Aoife Morrin , Cris Guntin and Conor Sullivan

The annual President's Awards for Teaching and Learning took place on 14 May 2009 in the Helix.  Prof Ferdinand von Prondzynski, President of DCU, presented the awards to DCU staff members who had made outstanding contributions to the teaching and learning mission of the university. Nominations are made by students and staff which are then adjudicated by a panel appointed by the University Teaching and Learning Committee.

Prof Ferdinand von Prondzynski said ‘There were over 50 nominations for this year's awards, the highest number in the history of the award. The nominations bore testimony to the significant contributions made by staff to DCU's teaching mission.’

The winners were:
Academic Support Staff Category: Conor Sullivan, School of Education Studies
New Lecturers/Postgraduate Tutors Category: 'The Legislation Lecturers': Blánaid White, Aoife Morrin and Sonia Ramirez, School of Chemical Sciences.
Academic Category: Cris Guntin, School of Applied Languages and Intercultural Studies

Professor Richard O'Kennedy, Vice-President for Learning Innovation, was warmly welcomed to his new post and gave an insightful presentation entitled ‘Supporting a DCU Community of Learning and Innovation’.

Following the award presentation Sylvia Huntley-Moore, Director of Staff Education and Development, TCD, shared her experiences and conclusions of student surveys in a presenation entitled ‘Student Surveys - Help or Hindrance in Promoting Effective Teaching’