Accessibility     Accessibility |
My DCU | Library | Loop |

☰       Department Menu



DCU grads Bernard Brogan and Paddy Keenan – Vodafone Allstars 2010

14 October 2010

Paddy Keenan (Louth)
Bernard Brogan (Dublin)

DCU graduates Bernard Brogan and Paddy Keenan were last night announced as members of the 15-squad Vodafone GAA football All Stars 2010.

Bernard Brogan, a graduate of DCU’s MSc in Business Management and the Professional Diploma in Accounting, was a member of the DCU GAA football team that won the Sigerson Cup in 2006.
He plays for Dublin and has been named as full forward in the All Stars team.

Louth player, Paddy Keenan, is also a graduate of DCU’s MSc in Business Management. He played for DCU in the 2008 Sigerson team. Paddy is the first player from County Louth to be nominated for the All Star team and has been nominated as a midfield player.

President of the GAA, Criostóir Ó Cuana, said the selections were arrived at after keen debate amongst the judging panel, which was made up of GAA journalists and chaired by the Uachtarán.

“It’s not a question of what county you come from, whether you won an All-Ireland or a National League, it’s a question of whether you were considered by the panel to have performed outstandingly well throughout the season and were deserving of an All Star award irrespective of where you are from," the Uachtarán said. “I think Paddy Keenan being selected clearly shows that in a very strong way and that’s good to see.”

The ‘Footballer of the Year’ announcement will be made at a press conference in Dublin this afternoon.

    2010 GAA All Stars:

    Brendan McVeigh (Down)

    Peter Kelly (Kildare)
    Michael Shields (Cork)
    Charlie Harrison (Sligo)
    Paudie Kissane (Cork)
    Graham Canty (Cork)
    Philip Jordan (Tyrone)

    Paddy Keenan (Louth)
    Aidan Walsh (Cork)

    Daniel Hughes (Down)
    Martin Clarke (Down)
    Johnny Doyle (Kildare)


    Colm Cooper (Kerry)
    Bernard Brogan (Dublin)
    Benny Coulter (Down)