Accessibility     Accessibility
My DCU | Library | Loop |

☰       Show/Hide Menu

☰       Department Menu



Irish Science Olympiad 2011

4 April 2011

Photo: Irish Sciences Olympiad Trophy Winners; Thomas Hayes, Aisling Kerr and Sam Boles with the Irish delegation leaders, Dr. Eamonn Cunningham (IPhO), Dr. Paraic James (IChO) and Charlie Daly (IOI)

The Irish Sciences Olympiad in Chemistry, Physics & Computer Programming was held at Dublin City University (DCU) on Saturday 19th of March 2011. The finalists were competing for gold, silver & bronze Irish Science Olympiad medals and for the opportunity to represent Ireland at the International Science Olympiads in July 2011. The Northern Ireland Sciences Olympiad was held in Queens University Belfast (QUB) on the 29th of January 2011.

The Principals were asked to nominate students sitting the Leaving Certificate examination in 2011 who were expected to get an A1 in the subject. In addition some students received a personal invitation based on their Junior Cert results. These students were the finalists at the IJSO and EUSO in previous years.

Chemistry Medal Winners
Gold - Aisling Kerr: Our Lady's Secondary School, Castleblayney, Co. .Monaghan.
Gavin Tucker: Lanesboro Community College, Co. Longford
Silver - Robert Ryan: Castletroy College, Newtown, Castletroy, Co. Limerick
Garrett Macklin: St. Andrew’s College, Booterstown, Co. Dublin
Bronze - James Donnellan: Summerhill College, Co. Sligo
Sarah Murphy: St. Josephs College, Athlone, Co. Westmeath

Physics Medal Winners
Gold - Thomas Hayes: Pobalscoil Inbhear Scéine, Kenmare, Co. Kerry
Padraig Condon: St. Gerald' s College, Castlebar, Co. Mayo
Silver - Mark O Donnell: Clongowes Wood College S.J., Clane, Co. Kildare
Robert O Keeffe: Clongowes Wood College S.J., Clane, Co. Kildare
Bronze - Ihab Jameel: St Andrew’s College, Booterstown, Co. Dublin
Rory McNab: Clonkeen College, Clonkeen Road, Blackrock, Co. Dublin,

Computer Programming Medal Winners
Gold - Sam Boles: St. Andrew’s College, Booterstown, Co Dublin
Silver - Shane Walsh: St. Colman's College, Fermoy, Co. Cork.
Bronze - Thomas Dunne: Coláiste Lorcáin, Castledermot, Co. Kildare.
Donncha O'Cearbhaill: St. Brendan’s Community School, Birr, Co Offaly.
U. 16 Gold - Abdullah Mohammad: Carrigaline Community School, Co. Cork
U. 16 Silver - Conor Flynn: St. Joseph's College, Nuns Island, Co. Galway

The medal winners from the Republic of Ireland and from Northern Ireland will form panels from which the Irish teams that will represent Ireland at the international Science Olympiads in July will be chosen. Training and final team selection will be held in DCU on Wednesday 27th April (2.00 pm) to Saturday 30th April (3.00 pm). The final training will take place in QUB prior to the internationals.

Northern Ireland Chemistry Medal Winners
Gold - Yang Xu: Lumen Christi College, Bishop St., Derry
Mathew Knox: Banbridge Academy, Lurgan Rd., Banbridge, Co. Down
Silver - David Broder-Rodgers: Friends School, Lisburn, Co. Antrim
Andrew Bronte: Banbridge Academy, Lurgan Rd., Banbridge, Co. Down
Bronze - Vincent McCormack: St. Columb’s College, Buncrana Rd., Derry
Ravinda Gunarante: Methodist College, 1 Malone Rd, Belfast, Co. Antrim

Northern Ireland Physics Medal Winners
Gold - Jordan Millar: Regent House School, Newtownards, Co. Down
Kathryn Hamilton, Ballymena Academy, 89 Galgorm Road, Co. Antrim
Silver - Alisha Gergett: Belfast Royal Academy, Belfast, Co. Antrim
Karl McCarron - Lumen Christi College, Bishop St., Derry
Bronze - Shajeth Sringengan: Methodist College, 1 Malone Rd, Belfast, Co. Antrim
Dara Canavan: Lumen Christi College, Bishop St., Derry

The Irish Delegation leaders are Dr. Paraic James (Chemistry), Charlie Daly (Computer Programming) and Dr. Eamonn Cunningham (Physics)

International Chemistry Olympiad (IChO):- Ankara, Turkey
International Physics Olympiad (IPhO):-Bangkok, Thailand
International Olympiad in Informatics (IOI):- Pattaya, Thailand