News at DCU
DCU Memorial Scholarships 2015
Below Image

DCU Memorial Scholarships 2015

Dublin City University awarded 15 scholarships in honour of past students, graduates and leading figures in Irish public life to current students in recognition of their academic and sporting achievements. A memorial service took place in the Interfaith Centre led by the University’s chaplain, Fr. Kevin Bartley, followed by a ceremony to award the scholarships.

Now in its sixth year, this annual event in the University’s calendar was attended by university supporters who have chosen to remember family, friends and colleagues in an impactful way, by contributing to the education of current students enrolled in the University’s Access Scholarship programme, Sports Scholarship programme and postgraduate courses.

The scholarship recipients represented many faculties across DCU and a number of counties in Ireland and were rewarded for their sporting accomplishments, academic excellence and critical research in fields as wide-ranging as international peace and security, cardiovascular disease and investigative journalism.

The awards were presented jointly to students by President Brian MacCraith and Mr. Larry Quinn, Chairman of the Educational Trust Board. Mr. Quinn thanked attendees for their continued support of the scholarships and said “Contributing to a student’s education and having an impact on their lives in this way is a special way to remember loved ones.  These young men and women are a tribute to those we remember today and will meet the challenge of living up to the name and ideals associated with each scholarship award.”

The generosity of the university’s donors in attendance yesterday provides vital support for students pursuing third-level education. The Access Scholarship programme now assists 800 students from across Ireland, allowing them to complete their chosen course at DCU regardless of their financial background. The Sports Scholarship programme provides training and development for some of the country’s most talented athletes, with many succeeding at national, international and Olympic level.

To find out more about these initiatives, visit the websites of the Access Office and Sports Academy or contact the Educational Trust.

The following scholarships were awarded on the day:


Nicola Furlong Memorial Scholarship

Dearbhla Hamill, 1st Year, BCL Law and Society


Charles J. Haughey Memorial Scholarships

  • Philip Lehinan, 1st Year BSc Athletic Therapy and Training
  • Ardit Hoxha, 2nd Year BCL Law and Society


Charles J. Haughey Memorial Doctoral Fellowship

Catherine Connolly, PhD, Faculty of Law and Government


Dr. Paddy J. Wright Memorial Scholarships

  • Kirstie O’Reilly, 2nd Year, Bachelor of Business Studies
  • Shauna Rose Doran, 2nd Year, BA Accounting and Finance
  • David Byrne, 3rd Year, BSc Education and Training


Frank Durkan Memorial Scholarship

Talissa Walsh, 2nd Year, BSc Psychology


Ger McDonnell Memorial Scholarship

Robert Swaine, 2nd Year, BSc Electronic Engineering


John Thompson Memorial Scholarships

Claire Petersen, MSc in Digital Marketing


Orla Benson Memorial Scholarship

Emma Fitzpatrick, PhD, Faculty of Science and Health


Paddy Moriarty Memorial Doctoral Fellowship

Christopher O’Connell, PhD, Faculty of Law and Government


Veronica Guerin Memorial Scholarship

Claire Scott, MA Journalism


T.J. O’Driscoll Memorial Scholarship

Ryan Nicholas Graham, 2nd Year, Aviation Management,


Aidan McDonnell Memorial Scholarship

Sean Healy, 2nd Year, BSc Computational Problem Solving and Software Development