Accessibility     Accessibility |
My DCU | Library | Loop |

☰       Department Menu

School of Applied Language & Intercultural Studies

Sexuality Conference

Self, Selves and Sexualities

Conference Abstracts

Friday 19th + Saturday 20th March 2010

Note: Please access all PDF abstracts by clicking on the titles

 

Prof. Stef Adriaenssens, HUB - University College Brussels, Belgium

Ethical Consumption? Normative Consciousness by Prostitution Clients
stef.adriaenssens@hubrussel.be

Prof. Samira Aghacy, Lebanese American University, Lebanon

Masculine Identity in the Fiction of Hoda Barakat and Rachid Al-Daif
saghacy@lau.edu.lb

Banu Akcesme, Middle East Technical University, Turkey

Sexuality in Trouble: Fluid Bodies
obanu@metu.edu.tr

Dr Emmanouil Aretoulakis, University of Crete, Greece

Consuming Desires and Sexualities
aretoulakis@phl.uoc.gr

Javier Balbas Diez Barroso, Casa Lamm, Mexico

Phallolatry in Ancient Mexico and Peru
jabadiba@yahoo.com

Carol Barron, Dublin City University, Ireland

Boys like Action Games, Girls Like Animal Games": Sexuality of Self / Selves in the Development and Use of Digital games by children in Middle Childhood
carol.barron@dcu.ie

Dr Fewzia Bedjaoui, Sidi Bel Abbes University,  Algeria

Woman Writing: a Mouthpiece to Indian Feminism
Fewzia.bedjaoui@gmail.com

Dr Julie Ann Buenting, Saint Xavier University, U.S.A.

Limiting Selves
Buenting@sxu.edu

Maartje Bulkens, Wageningen University, Netherlands

"A Delicious Leisure Activity": Spatial Resistance to Heteronormativity in Public Spaces
maartje.bulkens@wur.nl

Helen Butcher, University of Chichester, United Kingdom

"Larry the Freedom Fighter is Dead and Larry the Business Man is Alive": Commercial Identity and Discourses of Self and Other in the Contemporary Porn Industry
H.Butcher@chi.ac.uk

Eugenia Cabral & Paulo Pinheiro, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal

"Being a woman" in the Brazilian Feminine Press
eugeniacabral@yahoo.com.br paulojr.pinheiro@gmail.com

Dr Mark Casey, Newcastle University, United Kingdom

Ideal Homes? Class, Gender and Sexuality in the Lesbian and Gay Home
M.E.Casey@ncl.ac.uk

Supriti Chakraborty, Mumbai Institute of Technology, India

The Politics of Sexuality amongst Men who have Sex with Men (MSM) Community in Delhi, India
supriti_iit@rediffmail.com

Manase Chiweshe, Women's University in Africa, Zimbabwe

'Eroticism and Sexual Pleasure in an Era of Social Networking': Facebook and the Consumption of Sexuality in Zimbabwe
manasekudzai@gmail.com

Amy Christmas, University of Leeds (York St John), U.K.  

Intimacy, Imagination, and the Self: Orlan and the Composite Body
a.christmas@yorksj.ac.uk

Dr Ana Cruz Garcia, N.U.I. Cork & Cork Institute of Technology

Lesbian Bodies and Sexuality in Mexican Writing by Women Writers
ana.cruz@ucc.ie

Dr Hernán Cuevas, Universidad Diego Portales, Chile & Isabel Pérez Zamora, Universidad Academia de Humanismo Cristiano, Chile

Sexual Citizenship
hernan.cuevas@udp.cl ixp181@yahoo.com

Dr Antoinette Curtin, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Alan Moore's Sexual Ladies
ancurtin@tcd.ie

Baboucar Diouf, Université Gaston Berger de Saint-Louis, Senegal

Lifecycle and Sexuality in James Baldwin's Go It tell It on the Mountain and Shimmer Chinodya's Harvest of Thorns
baboucardiouf2g5el@yahoo.fr

Dr Sandra Dudareva, Public Health Agency, Latvia & Dr Anda Karnite, Riga Stradins University, Latvia

Men who Have Sex with Men (MSM): A "Bridge" Group for HIV Transmission in Latvia
sandra.dudareva@gmail.com anda.karnite@rsu.lv

Dr. Mel Duffy, School of Nursing, Dublin City University


The Power to Name and Shame in Irish Health Care
mel.duffy@dcu.ie

Dr Philip Esterhuizen, Hogeschool van Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Self-Disclosure or Not? That is the Question
philip.esterhuizen@hca.nl

James Fedor, Rutgers University, U.S.A.

Sexual Issues Among the Terminally Ill
jpfedor@gmail.com

Dr Miriam Galvin, University of Bradford, United Kingdom

Representations of Sexuality: Men who Interact Sexually with Children
miriam.galvin@gmail.com

Prof.  Pumla Dineo Gqola, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Unfashionable sexualities: Post-Apartheid Black women, Complexity and the Feminist Imagination
pumla.gqola@wits.ac.za

Rachel Hills, University of New South Wales, Australia

Great Sexpectations: Sex and Symbolic Capital in the Age of Raunch
rachel.hills@student.unsw.edu.au

Dr Michael Hinds, Mater Dei Institute, Ireland

Sappho's Jukebox: from Lesbos to Memphis
Michael.Hinds@materdei.dcu.ie

Clare Hollowell, Lancaster University, United Kingdom

You don't want to be fun in the wrong way": Young Women's Sexuality within the Discourse of Fun
c.a.hollowell@lancaster.ac.uk

Prof. Dave Holmes, University of Ottawa, Canada

Bodyless Sex: Glory Holes and Sexual Assemblages
dholmes@uottawa.ca

Jean-Philippe Imbert, Dublin City University, Ireland

« Péhor » by Remy de Gourmont : Sacrilege and Sacrifice of a Fin-de-Siècle milkmaid
Jean-Philippe.Imbert@dcu.ie

Dr Victor Karandashev, Grand Valley State University, U.S.A.

Love Attitudes across the Whole Lifecycle
karandav@gvsu.edu

Dr Ravinder Kumar, Omar Al-Mukhtar University, Libya

Gender , Sex and Descrimination in The God of Small Things : Theories and Approaches
drraviathwal@gmail.com

Yushuo, Kuo, University of Exeter, United Kingdom

Relationships from Prospectives of ASDs
yk212@exeter.ac.uk

Prof. Rina Lapidus, Bar-Ilan University, Israel

Sex, Man's Self-Esteem and Muder of Woman in Russian Novel of 19th and 20th Century
alrlhs@mail.biu.ac.il

Dr Dina Ligaga, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Policing Sexualities: Radio Theatre and the Representation of Sexual Moralities in Romantic and Marital plays in Kenya
dina.ligaga@wits.ac.za

Prof. Xavela Maluleke, Walter Sisulu University, South Africa

The Sexual Health Programme for Puberty Rites for Girls in the Rural Areas of the Limpopo Province, South Africa
tmaluleke@wsu.ac.za

Dearbhla McGrath, Dublin City University, Ireland

Monstrous Sexualities: Peau d'âne - The Forgotten Tale?
dearbhla.mcgrath9@mail.dcu.ie

Niamh McNamara, University College Cork, Ireland

Mythology and Gender in the work of Chicana Writer, Luna Lemus
dearg.dawn@gmail.com

Dr. Nancy Moules and Dr. Andrew Estefan, University of Calgary, Canada


Sexuality in Adolescents Living with Cancer: The Refractive Capacity of the Disease Lens
njmoules@ucalgary.ca aestefan@ucalgary.ca

Darragh O'Donoghue, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Writing of the Body: Penella Lenigan and Other 19th Century Female Diarists
dodonog@tcd.ie

Margaret Louise O'Neill, Murdoch University, Australia

Self, Selves and Highly Sexual Women: A Phenomenological Study of the Sexual Subjectivities and Discursive Environment of Women who are Identified or Identify Themselves as Highly Sexual
margaretoneill3@bigpond.com

Dr Isabel Pérez Zamora, Universidad Academia de Humanismo Cristiano, Chile

De-Sexualising Dangerous Bodies and Regulating the Self
ixp181@yahoo.com

Dr Beth A. Robertson, ABD, Carleton University, Canada

In the Laboratory of the Spirits: Gendered Dichotomies of the Séance Space in the Psychical Research of Dr. T.G. Hamilton, 1918-1935
Bethrobertson33@gmail.com

Nicole Rouhana, CNM, FNP-BC, PhD, Stony Brook University, U.S.A.

Women's Perspectives of Sexual Function after Menopause: A Grounded Theory Study
nicole.rouhana@sunysb.edu

Olivier Roy, University of Montréal, Canada

Secular Homonationalism: Sexuality at the Intersection of Nation and Religion
olivier.roy.6@umontreal.ca

Dr Clemens Ruthner, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
"La Mutzenbacher": Paedophilia as Social Pornography in Fin-de-Siècle Vienna

clemens.ruthner@tcd.ie

Prof. Carmel Seibold, Australian Catholic University, Australia

Young Women's Sexual Health
carmel.seibold@acu.edu.au

Riham Sheble, American University in Cairo, Egypt

From Whore to Holy "and Back" A comparative reading of "Lilly, Did You Have to Put On the Light?" a short story by Yūsuf Idrīs and "Lila Says" a novel by Chimo
rihshebl@yahoo.com

Dr Vera Sheridan, Dublin City University, Ireland

Sounds of Silence: Presence and Absence in a Narrative of Forced Migration
vera.sheridan@dcu.ie

Prof. Cheryl Stobie, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

 "He uses my body": Lesbian Traditional Healers, Male Ancestors and Transgender in South Africa
stobiec@ukzn.ac.za

Melissa Stobie, Dublin City University, Ireland

Examining the Concept of "Harm" in Sex Consumption
MLStobie@gmail.com

Sara Stokes, N.U.I., Galway, Ireland

Who Regulates Sexuality in Ireland? From the Catholic Church to Popular Media: a Shift in Direction
sarastokes42@gmail.com

Cecilia Strand, Uppsala University, Sweden

The Demonization of Homosexuals in Ugandan Print Media – a tale on Modern Witch Hunt
cecilia.strand@im.uu.se

Prof.  Kwok-kan Tam, Open University of Hong Kong, China

Cinematic and Literary Representations of Sexuality and the Male Self in China
kktam@ouhk.edu.hk

Mitali Thakor, Stanford University, U.S.A.

Mobile Bodies: Practicing Cell Phone-Based Transactional Sex in India
mitalit@stanford.edu

Dr Ernesto Vasquez del Aguila, University College Dublin, Ireland

In the U.S. Versatility Reigns: Gay Masculinities and the Transformation of Intimacy among Gay Peruvian Immigrant Men in New York City
ernesto.vasquezdelaguila@ucd.ie

Louise Wilks, University of Liverpool, United Kingdom

"He became me, and I became him": Sexuality, Space and Place in Dom Rotheroe's "My Brother Tom."
louwilks@liv.ac.uk

Paul Willis, Swansea University, United Kingdom

Homophobic Encounters of the Third Kind: Young Queer Workers Witnessing and Refuting Homophobia in Australian Workplaces
P.B.Willis@swansea.ac.uk

Dr Wallace Wong, Ministry of Children and Family Development, Canada

Working with Gender Variant Children using a Multi-System Approach
wallace.wong@gov.bc.ca

Ingrid Young, Newcastle University, United Kingdom

Reimagining Risk: Understanding Encounters in Gay and Bisexual Men's Sexual Health
ingrid.young@ncl.ac.uk