EQUALITY STEERING GROUP Minutes of the Eighteenth Meeting of the Equality Steering Group 2 December 2003

- Present:Albert Pratt (Chair)
Marian Burns
Ellen Breen
Claire Byrne
Martin Conry
Victor Fagg
Lisa Looney
Richard O'Doherty (SU Officer)
Mary Ainscough (Equality Director)
- 1. Apologies: Padraig MacNeela Xiaojun Wang

In attendance: Margaret O'Flanagan (equality action plan task group)

3. DCU Equality Action Plan

The Equality auditors presented the Equality Action Plan (Operational document) to the ESG.

The ESG/equality action plan task group had drawn up the Equality Action Plan at a 1.5 day workshop, facilitated by the equality auditors (November 10 and 24, 2003). The members of the group were: Albert Pratt; Martin Conry; Marian Burns; Claire Byrne; Lisa Looney; Mary Ainscough; Robert Elgie; Pauline Mooney; Margaret O'Flanagan; Ciaran O'hOgartaigh. The proposed action plan was the key outcome of the DCU Equality Review.

Concerns were expressed in relation to the implementation process outlined in the proposed plan. Responsibilities allocated under the plan's implementation schedule could be seen as designing extra work for the designated individuals. As the allocation of tasks is the responsibility of the University's management it would be the case that no other group could assign work to individuals or take work away from any individuals.

Notwithstanding the issue of allocating tasks and responsibilities for implementation, the Group broadly accepted the proposed plan and the goals outlined.

It was agreed that the Equality Action Plan (operational document) be sent to the President and thence to Executive.

It was noted that the equality auditors would present the final report of the DCU Equality Review and Action Plan to the ESG on 18 December 2003.