UNIVERSITY STANDARDS COMMITTEE

AGENDA

THURSDAY, 4 DECEMBER 2008

AT 9:30 AM IN A204

A. <u>Minutes and related issues</u>

- 1. Adoption of the agenda
- 2. Minutes of the meeting of 2 October 2008
- 3. Matters arising from the minutes
- 4. Minutes of the Graduate Studies Board meeting of 6 November 2008

B. <u>Faculty issues</u>

- 5. Derogations from Marks & Standards
 - 5.1 Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
- 6. Changes to examination regulations No items
- 7. Approval for nominations/renewals/changes to duties of external examiners for taught programmes
 - 7.1 <u>Appointment of external examiners</u>

7.1.1 DCU Business School

- 7.1.1.1 Professor Nicholas O'Regan, University of the West of England, Bristol
- 7.1.1.2 Professor William Dutton, University of Oxford
- 7.1.1.3 Dr Carol Atkinson, Bradford University
- 7.1.1.4 Professor Jo Silvester, City University London
- 7.1.1.5 Professor Dominic Elliott, University of Liverpool
- 7.1.1.6 Professor Thomas Boylan, NUI Galway
- 7.1.1.7 Professor John Goddard, University of Wales

7.1.2 Faculty of Engineering & Computing

7.1.2.1 Dr David Linton, Queen's University Belfast School of Electronic Engineering

7.1.3 Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences

7.1.3.1 Dr Honor Fagan, NUI Maynooth School of Applied Language & Intercultural Studies

7.1.4 Faculty of Science & Health

- 7.1.4.1 Professor Gary Walsh, University of Limerick School of Biotechnology
- 7.1.4.2 Professor Stephen John Allen, Queen's University Belfast School of Biotechnology
- 7.1.4.3 Professor Mary Meegan, TCD School of Chemical Sciences
- 7.1.4.4 Dr Russell Gerrard, City University London School of Mathematical Sciences
- 7.1.4.5 Ms Margaret McCann, TCD School of Nursing
- 7.1.4.6 Dr George McClelland, University of Limerick School of Physical Sciences
- 7.1.4.7 Dr Denis Dowling, UCD School of Physical Sciences

7.1.5 Oscail

- 7.1.5.1 Professor Thomas Bartlett, University of Aberdeen Oscail
- 7.1.5.2 Ms Debbie Harris, London South Bank University Oscail

7.1.6 Linked Colleges

- 7.1.6.1 Dr Maria Duffy, Milltown Institute of Philosophy All Hallows College
- 7.1.6.2 Dr Michael Shevlin, TCD Mater Dei Institute of Education
- 7.1.6.3 Mr Frank M Flanagan, Mary Immaculate College of Education Mater Dei Institute of Education

7.2 <u>Renewal of appointment/changes to duties</u>

7.2.1 DCU Business School

- 7.2.1.1 Professor Graeme Currie, Nottingham University MBS in Human Resource Strategies
- 7.2.2 Faculty of Engineering & Computing No items
- **7.2.3 Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences** No items

7.2.4 Faculty of Science & Health

- 7.2.4.1 Professor Alan Dobson, UCC School of Biotechnology
- 7.2.4.2 Professor Nicholas St. John Braithwaite School of Physical Sciences

7.2.5 Oscail

- 7.2.5.1 Professor Madeleine Leonard, Queen's University Belfast BSc in Information Technology
- 7.2.5.2 Dr Harry Bunting, University of Ulster BA in Humanities
- 7.2.5.3 Professor Michael Eysenck, Royal Holloway University of London BA in Humanities

7.2.6 Linked Colleges

7.2.6.1 Professor Mike Cronin, Boston College, Dublin Mater Dei Institute of Education

8. Regulatory issues as highlighted in external examiners' reports No items

- 9. Stand-alone modules No items
- **10.** Other issues (from Faculties) No items
- C. Other issues (not Faculty-specific)
- 11. Report of the Academic Framework for Innovation (oral report)
- 12. Marks and Standards 2008/09, St Patrick's College

13. Any other business

Date of next meeting:

Thursday, 5 February 2009 9.30 a.m. in A204