## UNIVERSITY STANDARDS COMMITTEE

## AGENDA

Thursday, 25 May 2017

#### At 9:30 Am in A204

## A. <u>Minutes and related issues</u>

- **1.** Adoption of the agenda
- 2. Minutes of the meeting of 30 March 2017
- **3.** Matters arising from the minutes

## B. <u>Faculty issues</u>

# 4. External examiners for taught programmes

#### 4.1 <u>Nominations</u>

Professor Jan Bierhoff, Medialynx, The Netherlands
BA in Journalism and MA in Journalism
Dr Akiko Furukawa, University of London
School of Applied Language & Intercultural Studies
Dr William Dinan, University of Sterling
MSc in Public Relations & Strategic Communications
Dr Helen Julia Minors, Kingston University London
MA in Music
Professor Frédérique Brossard Bérhaug, NLA University College,
Norway
Modules in School of Applied Language & Intercultural Studies
Dr Ian Willcock, University of Hertfordshire
BSc in Multimedia, MSc in Multimedia
Professor Denis Alexander, University of Ulster
MSc in Biomedical Diagnostics
Dr Frank De Langen, Open University of the Netherlands
Modules in Open Education
Professor Joanna Hodge, Manchester Metropolitan University
Modules in School of Theology, Philosophy & Music
Professor John Dwyfor Davies, University of the West of England
Graduate Diploma in Inclusive Education, Learning Support & Special
Education
Professor Peter Schuster, University of Applied Sciences Schmalkalden
Modules in DCU Business School
Dr Martin Edwards, King's College London
MSc in Work & Organisational Psychology/Organisational Behaviour

- 4.1.13 Dr Nicholas Battard, ICN Business School, Metz, France Modules in DCU Business School
- 4.1.14 Dr Cormac Mac Fhionnlaoich, UCD Modules in Fiontar agus Scoil na Gaeilge
- 4.1.15 Dr Caoimhín Ó Dónaill, Ulster University Modules in Fiontar agus Scoil na Gaeilge
- 4.1.16 Dr Malachy Ó Néill, Ulster University Modules in Fiontar agus Scoil na Gaeilge
- 4.1.17 Dr Simon Watson, University of Manchester Modules in the School of Electronic Engineering
- 4.1.18 Dr Dan Emanoil Grigoras, UCC MSc in Computing
- 4.1.19 Dr Hitesh Tewari, TCD BSc in Computer Applications
- 4.1.20 Dr Judith Hebron, University of Leeds Graduate Certificate in the Education of Pupils on the Autism Spectrum
- 4.1.21 Professor Wendy Phillips, Bristol Business School Modules in DCU Business School
- 4.1.22 Professor Brendan Tangney, TCD BSc in Computational Problem Solving & Software Development
- 4.1.23 Professor Melanie Giles, University of Ulster BSc in Psychology

# 4.2 <u>Change of Duties</u>

4.2.1 Professor Tony Dobbins, Bangor University DCU Business School

# 5. Other issues

# 5.1 Faculty of Engineering & Computing

5.1.1 Legacy readmission request: BEng in Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering

# 5.2 Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences

- 5.2.1 Proposed change to minimum entry requirements: BA in Economics, Politics & Law
- 5.2.2 Legacy readmission request: BA in Journalism

# 5.3 DCU Institute of Education

- 5.3.1 Derogation request: Bachelor of Education (Reflective Practice)
- 5.3.2 Derogation request: Professional Master of Education (Primary) (Reflective Practice)

- 5.3.3 Derogation request: Bachelor of Education (Literacy, Teagasc na Gaeilge, Mathematics & Gaeilge)
- 5.3.4 Derogation request: Professional Master of Education (Primary) (Literacy, Teagasc na Gaeilge, Mathematics & Gaeilge)
- 5.3.5 Legacy readmission request: Professional Certificate/Diploma in Special & Inclusive Education
- 5.3.6 Legacy readmission request: Professional Certificate/Diploma in Special & Inclusive Education
- 5.3.7 Legacy readmission request: PME
- 5.3.8 Legacy readmission request: MEd
- 5.3.9 Legacy readmission request: MSc in Guidance Counselling

#### 6. <u>Other issues (not Faculty-specific)</u>

- 6.1 Marks and Standards 2017
- 6.2 Programme Regulations 2017-2018
- 6.3 Academic Regulations for Postgraduate Degrees by Research and Thesis
- 6.4 RPL Policy for Research Programmes
- 7. Any other business

**Date of next meeting:** 

Thursday, 7 September 2017

9.30 a.m. in A204