Accessibility     Accessibility
My DCU | Library | Loop |

☰       Show/Hide Menu

☰       Department Menu


Strong DCU representation in All-Ireland Football Final 2017

Strong DCU representation in All-Ireland Football Final 2017

The 2017 All-Ireland​ Football ​Final (Sunday, September 17th) will see Dublin and Mayo renew acquaintances with Dublin aiming to complete a three-in-a-row and Mayo hoping to win their first title since 1951.

The degree of familiarity between Dublin and Mayo runs high having contested the 2013 and 2016 finals.

In addition, the fact that a large cohort of both panels studied and played football together at Dublin City University, adds an extra layer of familiarity between the teams.

The number of players and backroom team members of both panels, who have studied at Dublin City University stands at a remarkable 24.

Dublin (18) (17 graduates, 1 current student) Graduates are: Stephen Cluxton (Captain), Jonny Cooper, Ciaran Kilkenny, Cormac Costello, John Small, Denis Bastick, Paul Flynn, Conor McHugh, Shane Carthy, Philly McMahon, Bernard Brogan, Paddy Andrews, Dean Rock, Eoghan O'Gara, James McCarthy, Jason Sherlock and Bryan Cullen (Sherlock & Cullen are in the backroom teams). Current student Evan Comerford.

Mayo (6) (4 graduates, 2 current students) Graduates are: Cillian O’Connor (Captain), Rob Hennelly, Danny Kirby, Conor Loftus.

Current students: Patrick Durcan and Diarmuid O’Connor.

The 2017 All-Ireland Football Final, September 17th throws in at 3.30pm in Croke Park.

Best Wishes to both sides from all at Dublin City University.

15th September, 2017