News at DCU
Awards for Excellence in Teaching presented
Awards for Excellence in Teaching presented

Awards for Excellence in Teaching presented

The 2016/2017 President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching were presented in the Helix on Thursday afternoon (May 11th) with worthy recipients from across the university's schools from physical sciences to computing and open education acknowledged for their contributions.

The overall winner was Professor Patrick Flood, DCU Business School whose impressive teaching style, innovative assignments and feedback for students was highlighted as well as the high regard in which he is held nationally and internationally.

The full list of award winners are as follows:

Teaching Support Category: Patrick (Pat) Wogan, School of Physical Sciences

Team Award: General Sports Authority (GSA) Project Team - Dr Artemisa Jaramillo, Ms Caroline McGroary, Ms Rhea George, Ms Mary Finnegan, Dr Michele Lundy, Ms Ieva Masevic, Ms Justina Setkute, Ms Raja Clouse, Dr Ann Largey, Dr Audrey Nicholls, Dr Anne Morrissey

Special Awards:

Distinctive Approaches to Teaching: Dr John Buckley, School of Theology, Philosophy and Music

Distinctive Approaches to Assessment & Feedback Dr Dónal Mulligan, School of Communications

Distinctive Innovation in Teaching Charlie Daly, School of Computing

New Lecturer/Tutor Category Orna Farrell, Open Education

Congratulations to all of this year's recipients.

Pictured above: L-R Dr Mark Glynn, Professor Brian MacCraith, Dr Dónal Mulligan, Pat Wogan, Dr John Buckley, Professor Patrick Flood, Charlie Daly, Deirdre O'Reilly and Anne-Marie Caherty (representing the GSA Project Team), Orna Farrell, Billy Kelly and Professor Eithne Guilfoyle