Accessibility     Accessibility |
My DCU | Library | Loop |

☰       Department Menu


RSC 2019 Higher Education Technical Excellence Award

RSC 2019 Higher Education Technical Excellence Award

The Awards Committee of the Royal Society of Chemistry’s (RSC) Education Division has selected the DCU School of Chemical Sciences Technical Team to receive the RSC 2019 Higher Education Technical Excellence Award.

This has been awarded for the exceptional services to health and safety and accessibility in Irish Higher Education laboratories.

The award is given to those working in technical support roles within the HE Sector in the UK and Republic of Ireland.

Nominations from across the UK and Ireland were evaluated on the following aspects: professionalism, contribution, achievement, development and personal attributes.

Kindly nominated by Dr. Blanaid White, supported by Dr. Aoife Morrin and Prof. Apryll Stalcup, the team are delighted to receive this award and view it as a most welcomed and exciting acknowledgment for the team.

The Award will be presented to the team at DCU over the summer months and consists of £2000 financial prize and Team Medal and certificates.

Nomination citation was for the development and implementation of a suite of technical services, developing health and safety guidelines for the Irish higher-education system ahead of national requirements and developing solutions to accommodate students with disabilities in practical laboratory sessions.

The Technical team at the School of Chemical Sciences consists of nine members: Veronica Dobbyn, Chief Technical Officer, Damien McGuirk, Senior Technical Officer,Mary Ross, Senior Technical Officer,Vincent Hooper, Senior Technical Officer,John McLoughlin, Senior Technical Officer,Catherine Keogh, Technical Officer,Aisling McCarthy, Technical Officer, Ambrose May, Stores Manager, Mary Tspon, Accounts Assistant.

9th May, 2019