Accessibility     Accessibility |
My DCU | Library | Loop |

☰       Department Menu

DCU Alert Status:
Last updated: Monday, March 30, 2020 - 14:06


DCU Dóchas Éireann get ready for Sigerson Cup Final

DCU Dóchas Éireann get ready for Sigerson Cup Final

DCU Dóchas Éireann are in the midst of final preparations for this year's Sigerson Cup Final against IT Carlow on Wednesday, Jan 29th at 7.30pm in DCU Sportsground, St Clare's.

Hopes are high that the current group can capture a fifth title, which would be all the more special as this year Dublin City University celebrates its 40th anniversary.

The university has demonstrated a strong commitment to sport, and in particular GAA during its 40 year history with a large number of All Ireland winners in all codes pulling on the famed DCU jersey, including a significant number of the 5-in-a-row All Ireland winning Dublin team.

The university has won the prestigious Sigerson title on four occasions; 2006, 2010, 2012, and most recently in 2015. One of the noteworthy features of sport at DCU is the strong links between the university and DCU alumni community.

As an example of this, the current DCU Dóchas Éireann team is managed by alumni Paddy Christie, Davey Byrne (coach and joint captain of the winning 2015 team) and Kevin Leahy (coach).

In their run to the final, DCU Dóchas Éireann side faced a series of tough battles to reach this year's decider; defeating the Garda College in round one (0-11 to 0-09); Queen's University Belfast (7-14 to 0-09) in the quarter final before defeating University College Dublin on an impressive scoreline of 1-15 to 0-03 in this year's semi-final.

IT Carlow defeated IT Tralee and University College Cork (UCC) before taking on IT Letterkenny in the semi-final, winning out on a scoreline of 2-9 to 1-9 in a foggy Inniskeen.

The very best wishes to both teams in this year's final and please come out and show your support at DCU Sportsgrounds tonight.

DCU Dóchas Éireann Sigerson Cup Final Panel: Evan Comerford, Ballymun Kickhams, Dublin; Conor Morrison, St Eunan’s, Donegal; Brendan McCole, St Naul’s, Donegal; Daniel Corcoran, Geraldines, Louth; Kevin Flynn, Celbridge, Kildare; Sean MacMahon,Raheny, Dublin; Declan Monaghan,Clontarf, Dublin; Jordan Morrissey, Eire Og, Carlow; Sean Bugler, St Oliver Plunketts, Dublin; Mark Barry, O’Dempseys, Laois; Mícheál Bannigan, Aughnamullen, Monaghan; Brian Stack, St Brigids, Roscommon; Thomas Edward Donohoe, Denn, Cavan; Paddy Small, Ballymun Kickhams, Dublin; David Garland, Donaghmoyne, Monaghan; Dean McDermott, Parnells, Dublin; Kieran Dwyer, St Pat’s Blennerville, Kerry; Shehroz Akram, Ballaghaderreen, Mayo; Mark Curran, Dungloe, Donegal; Neil Matthews, Erins Isle, Dublin; Karl Lynch Bissett,Naomh Mearnog,Dublin; David McEntee,St Peter's Dunboyne, Meath; Conor Hickey, Fingallians, Dublin; Cian McKeown, Boyle,Roscommon; Stephen Smith, Skerries Harps,Dublin; Shane Tierney, Daingean, Offaly; Mikey Gordon, Easkey, Sligo; Tom Fox, Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin; Nathan Gavigan,Sean MacCumhaills, Donegal; Luke Gilmartin,Tubbercurry, Sligo; Jamie Walshe,Doohamlet, Monaghan; Paul Tolan, Naomh Barrog, Dublin; Mark Plunkett, Aughawillan, Leitrim; Shane Carthy, Naomh Mearnog, Dublin; Pearce Dolan, Aughawillan, Leitrim; Billy Mannion, Mountbellew Moylough, Galway; Owen McDonnell, Na Fianna, Meath

Pictured above at the launch of the Sigerson and Fitzgibbon 2020 campaigns were representatives of participating HEIs

29th January, 2020