Accessibility     Accessibility |
My DCU | Library | Loop |

☰       Department Menu

Science and Mathematics Education Conference

Ton Ellermeijer

Implementation of Inquiry Based Science Education (IBSE): is supporting the teachers sufficient to be successful? 

Please click on the pdf icon to access this presentationpdf

Prof Ton Ellermeijer, Foundation CMA, Amsterdam, The Netherlands


The European Community wants science education to change in direction of IBSE (Rocard Report). Today several large projects involving many countries are addressing this challenge. The main focus is on preparing and supporting teachers by providing them with innovative curriculum materials and teacher training activities (as well pre-service as in-service).

In this presentation I will analyze the process of implementation and identify key factors that have decisive influence on the level of implementation. Also some design criteria for effective in-service training will be discussed.

This analysis will be based on two cases of innovation in The Netherlands, and a comparison with experiences in other countries:

  • the implementation of a new part in the curriculum of Physics: Physics Informatics, and
  • the implementation of the integration of ICT in Science Education

For a long time we know ICT might stimulate and enable Science Education in a direction that brings (high school) students in a similar position as researchers in science. The powerful tools available (from measurement with sensors, advanced video-analysis to numerical modeling) facilitates realistic and authentic research projects by students. 


Professor Ton Ellermeijer, is Director of CMA and current President of GIREP (the International Group of Physics Education Researchers, Teacher Trainers and Teachers). Ton Ellermeijer is an experienced researcher in science education, curriculum developer and teacher trainer. He has been Director of the AMSTEL Institute of the University of Amsterdam from 1997 up to 2010. Ton Ellermeijer received the Minnaert Prize for his contributions to Dutch Physics Education (1999) and the ICPE Medal (International Commission of Physics Education of the IUPAP, 2009) for his contribution to Physics Education worldwide.