Awards | School of Physical Sciences

Undergraduate Programmes

Prizes & Awards

Each year the School of Physical Sciences makes awards of its own to graduating 4th year students to note outstanding academic achievements. Details of these awards are given below.

Awards & Prizes

Internal School Medal Awards

Medals for best overall performances in 4th year/degree:

Lynam medal (endowed by Mr. Harry Lynam, an applied physicist and entrepreneur who founded a number of very successful physics-based companies, including Lake Electronics, which have employed a broad range of scientists and engineers in leading edge technologies)

> Awarded for the best overall performance in the Applied Physics degree programme (1987 - 2014) and thereafter across all physics programmes (2014 - present).

Fryar medal (instituted following the death in 1990 of Dr. Joe Fryar, a colleague in the School who placed particular emphasis on experimental skills)

> Awarded for the best overall performance in the final year project across all physics programmes (1992 - present).

Plummer medal (instituted in the name of Prof. Henry C.K. Plummer, Andrews Professor of Astronomy in Trinity College Dublin, Royal Astronomer of Ireland and director of Dunsink Observatory from 1912-1921)

> Awarded for the best overall performance in the Physics with Astronomy degree (for the years 2007, 2008, 2010,2011 and 2013).


Rolls of Honour

YearLynam Medal       Fryar Medal        Plummer Medal     
1987Cathal Flynn  
1988Simon McCabe  
1989Colm Cryan  
1990Moira O'Connor  
1991Enda McGlynnJohn Pelan 
1992Marcus CarberyKevin Lardner 
1993William WhittyThomas Leahy 
1994Oonagh MeighanOonagh Meighan 
1995Robert MulhallLorraine Warren 
1996Karl SaundersJames McGinley 
1997Declan GoodmanAnn Larkin 
1998Ruth BridcutDavid Phillips 
1999Philip BoweJason Ruane 
2000Derek McNamaraLee Carroll 
2001Adam KellyAdrian Murphy 
2002Grainne SheerinIan French 
2003Helen Cathcart Alan Meaney  
2004Caroline BanahanJohn Dardis 
2005Daniel ForanAoibheann Bird 
2006Vincent RichardsonPadraig Bolger 
2007David GrimesBrian DoohanChristina Duffy 
2008Catherine DoyleThomas KellyChristopher Helly 
2009Thomas CumminsKevin Ryan 
2010Martin DuignanNichola WalshNina Hanzlikova
2011Ciarán GrayNuala ByrneMary O'Sullivan
2012Thomas ButlerThomas Rudden 
2013R HeunickeClaire O'ConnellWilliam Hanks
2014Matthew McKennaAnita Brady 
2015Tessa RonanCleo Harvey 
2016Nicole FleckAdam Dempsey 
2017Adam PriorSam McKeague 
2018Andrew ForembskiMatthew Snelgrove
2019Maksim JansenkoMichael Moore

Edited 221119