History | School of Physical Sciences

About School of Physical Sciences


The School of Physical Sciences was Established in 1980.

It graduated its first B.Sc. (Hons) class in 1985.

Since then almost 800 students have graduated at B.Sc., M.Sc. and Ph.D. levels.

We take great pride in the achievements of all of our graduates and all have gone on from DCU to play key roles nationally and internationally in research, education, industry and many other professional domains.

We undertake to meet the scientific and career goals of our B.Sc. students by providing top tier classroom,  laboratory and computer/IT facilities.

We also offer internationally competitive research opportunities to excellent B.Sc. and M.Sc. graduates.

The School has been hugely successful in winning external research funding. Two of DCU’s four National Research Centres (Plasma Science and Technology and Sensors) and some of DCU’s largest Science Foundation Ireland Centres (Biomedical Diagnostics Institute and the Fraunhofer Project Centre for Embedded Bioanalytical Systems "FPC@DCU") were established by School Professors.

We welcome you to our website and invite you to contact us at physics@dcu.ie if you are interested in any of our undergraduate physics programmes or in pursuing postgraduate research in domains from nanoscale physics to astronomy and from photonics to physics education

We offer a number of undergraduate courses that lead to a physics qualification:

  • B.Sc. Physics with Data Analytics
  • B.Sc. in Physics with Biomedical Sciences
  • B.Sc. in Physics with Astronomy
  • B.Sc. in Applied Physics
  • B.Sc. in Science Education
  • B.Sc. in Science International
  • B.Sc. in Environmental Science and Health
  • B.Sc. in Common Entry into Science

We also offer a number of postgraduate opportunities in our internationally recognised research fields. See: https://www.dcu.ie/physics/research-opportunities.shtml




Edited 151122