Honorary Graduates

Dublin City University Honorary Graduates

Wesley Cocker Retired Professor of Chemistry and Fellow Emeritus
Trinity College Dublin
(Conferred 24 October 1997)
Mary Davis Chief Executive
2003 World Special Olympic Games
(Conferred 4 November 2003)
Roddy Doyle Author (Conferred 7 March 1998)
Mr Brian Friel Playwright (Conferred 6 November 1991)
David Hammond Musician and Film-maker
(Conferred 5 November 2003)
Mr Charles J Haughey TD Taoiseach (Conferred 19 September 1990)
Mr John Hume Member of the European Parliament (Conferred 26 March 1994)
Dr Owen Keenan Former Chief Executive
(Conferred 10 March 2010)
Her Excellency Jean Kennedy Smith Ambassador of the United States of America (Conferred 26 March 1994)
Louis le Brocquy Artist (Conferred 20 March 1999)
Mrs Mary McAleese President of Ireland (Conferred 29 March 2008)
Mr Martin McAleese   (Conferred 29 March 2008)
Neil V McCann Fyffes plc (Conferred 20 March 1999)
John McGahern Teacher, short-story writer and novelist (Conferred 8 November 2003)
Fr Peter McVerry SJ Jesuit Priest (Conferred 2 November 2001)
Mr Timothy Mahony Chairman, Killeen Investments Ireland Ltd (Conferred 26 March 1994)
Professor James G March Jack Steele Parker Professor of International Management Graduate School of Business
Stanford University
(Conferred 26 March 1994)
John F Mitchell Vice Chairman of the Board
Former General Manager
Motorola Inc
(Conferred 25 October 1996)
Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill Poet (Conferred 20 October 1995)
Mr John Pilger Journalist (Conferred 11 March 1995)
Paul Quigley Former General Manager
Shannon Development
(Conferred 25 October 1996)
Mary Robinson President of Ireland (Conferred 21 April 1997)
Mr Peter Sutherland Former Attorney General and EC Commissioner.
Director-General GATT
(Conferred 6 November 1991)
Mother Teresa, MC Calcutta (Conferred 5 June 1993)
Patrick A Toole Senior Vice President and Group Executive (retired)
(Conferred 24 October 1997)
Professor Ernest T W Walton Nuclear Physicist and Joint Winner of 1951 Nobel Prize for Physics (Conferred 6 November 1991)
Maurice Whelan Engineer
Silicon & Software Systems
(Conferred 20 March 1999)
Dr Kenneth Whitaker Chancellor
National University of Ireland
(Conferred 20 October 1995)
Patrick J. Wright Businessman (Conferred 20 March 2004)