☰       Department Menu

School of Biotechnology

School of Biotechnology Award Winners, 2019. (L-R) Prof. Christine Loscher, Mr. David Cunningham, Asst. Prof. Keith Rochfort

Prof. Richard O'Kennedy Awards 2019

As semester two came to a close, members from the seven schools that comprise the Faculty of Science and Health gathered in the Nursing Building as it played host to the annual Richard O’Kennedy Awards.  After the DCU Jazz Society got those in attendance into the festive mood, both the Dean of the Faculty of Science and Health; Prof. Michelle Butler, and DCU President, Prof. Brian MacCraith, got the ceremony underway with a warm welcome and opening address.

Established to recognise the contributions of staff members across the Faculty of Science and Health, these awards honour the work of Prof. Richard O’Kennedy, the role he played in the life of DCU, and the values which he epitomises.  In this regard, the School of Biotechnology received four nominations; Assistant Prof. Konstantinos Gkrintzalis, Assistant Prof. Keith Rochfort, Prof. Paul Cahill and Prof. Christine Loscher.

The awards were divided into categories for established researchers and early-career stage researchers.  Both awards recognise individuals who have shown leadership, collegiality, and creativity in interdisciplinary research.  Assoc. Prof. Blanaid White read each nomination aloud to the large crowd in attendance, while Prof. Richard O’Kennedy presented each award. 

The overall Richard O’Kennedy Award Winner was Prof. Christine Loscher, while the Richard O’Kennedy Emerging Talent Award Winner (early-career stage) was Assistant Prof. Keith Rochfort.

The awards coincided with the FoScars (Faculty of Science and Health Oscars); awards which also celebrate the important contributions made by staff within the Faulty.  As the FoScar nominations for each category were read aloud by Prof. Dermot Diamond and Assoc. Prof. Anne Parle-McDermott, the School of Biotechnology was represented across multiple categories, namely by Mr. Graham Dodrill and Mr. David Cunningham, both members of our Technical staff, Assoc. Prof. Rosaleen Devery, Ms. Mary Rafter, School Secretary, and Assoc. Prof. Anne Parle-McDermott, Head of School.

The FoScar winners were:

  • Best Person in a Leading Role:  Assoc. Prof. Brien Nolan
  • Best Person in a Supporting Role:  Mr. David Cunningham
  • Enhancing the Student Experience:  Ms. Miriam Downey
  • Championing Sustainability:  Dr. Brian Kelleher
  • Raising the Profile of the Faculty:  Prof. Niall Moyna

Within the School of Biotechnology, we are especially proud of David, winner of the “Best Person in a Supporting Role” award, but recognise and value the hard work and dedication of all of the winners and nominees across the Faculty in each category.

On behalf of the School of Biotechnology, a special thanks is extended to Marie, Eleanor and all in the Faculty office for organising a fantastically festive afternoon.

20th December, 2019