Governance of DCU

Welcome to the DCU Governance website, which provides detailed and comprehensive information regarding the Governing Authority of the University including its membership, standing orders and regulations and its functions and decisions.  

The DCU Governing Authority, chaired by the Chancellor Brid Horan, is charged with the overall Governance of the University in accordance with the Universities Act 1997.  

The Authority consists of thirty one members, both internal and external to the University, that serve a five year term.  The Authority meets at least six times per year and has a number of sub-committees (Audit, Risk, Strategic Finance, Nominations and Governance, Honorary Degree and Equality, Diversity and Inclusion) in place to assist it in the performance of its functions.