Law Research Centre

2018 Conference



Panel 1: Economic Union (14.00-16.00)

Chair: Herwig Hofmann (University of Luxembourg)

Jean-Paul Keppenne (Commission Legal Service) – Fiscal Rules

Tomi Tuominen (Lapland University) – Mechanisms of Financial Stabilization


Coffee break (16.00-16.30)


Panel 2: Monetary Union (16.30-18.30)

Chair: Burkhard Hess (MPI Luxembourg)

Phoebus Athanassiou (ECB Legal Service) – Institutional architecture

Aikaterini Pantazatou (University of Luxembourg) – Conventional & Unconventional Monetary Policy

Stefania Baroncelli (Bolzano University) – Monetary Policy and Judicial Review

Roderic O’Gorman (DCU, Dublin) – Adjustment Programs and Conditionality




Panel 3: Banking Union (9-10.30)

Chair: Pierre-Henri Conac (University of Luxembourg)

Valia Babis (Cambridge University) – The Single Rulebook and the European Banking Authority

Christos Gortsos (Kapodistrian University of Athens) – European Deposit Insurance Scheme


Coffee break (10.30-11.00)


Panel 4: Capital Markets Union, Financial Services and Investment Funds (11.00-12.30)

Chair: Andreas Heinzmann (GSK Stockmann)

Eugenia Siracusa (ESMA Legal Service) – The European System of Financial Supervision 

Nadia Linciano (Consob) – Clearing and Settlement

Marco Ventoruzzo (Bocconi University) – Investment Funds


Concluding Keynote Speech: Valerio Scollo (GSK Stockmann) (12.30- 13.00) 

2018 Conference

2018 Conference