Civic Engagement
DCU President's Awards - medal
DCU President's Awards - medal
Above Image

Winners announced for DCU President's Awards for Engagement 2020

The 2020 President’s Awards for Engagement were presented at a virtual ceremony on 27th May, 2020 by DCU President Professor Brian MacCraith.

Speaking at the event, Professor MacCraith praised the winners achievements and highlighted the role of innovation and engagement in DCU’s COVID-19 response:

“Innovation and engagement are part of DCU’s DNA. They are values that fuel DCU’s mission ‘to transform lives and societies’. As DCU plays its part in the national effort to overcome the threat of COVID-19, innovation and engagement have been critical to ensuring our response to the crisis is timely and effective.”

A recording of the ceremony is availble on YouTube (

Almost 50 nominations were received for the Engagement Awards and award recipients were chosen based on strategic objective, internal and external impact and sustainability.

Engagement Award Recipients:

  • Staff Category: DCU Ability project which promotes the employability of young people with disabilities by offering a university-based programme which includes workplace training and work placements. 

  • Special Merit: Dr Yvonne Crotty, School of STEM Education, Innovation and Global Studies, for her ongoing work in the community, beyond that which she does in the classroom, nurtures creativity and culture across the University, and it has deepened DCU’s profile in creative and performing arts. Over the years, Yvonne has produced a number of high profile events, created a DCU Access Schools Choir and contributed significantly to DCU’s strategic goal of establishing a DCU Cultural Quarter in North Dublin. 

  • Student Category: John Noone, PhD Track student, School of Health and Human Performance, for his extensive engagement with the public through his research and in voluntary capacity. John’s volunteering work includes his involvement with DCU Biological Research Society, fundraising for charities including Pieta House and Barretstown, and outreach talks in schools and colleges during Science Week Ireland and Space Week Ireland. 

  • Special Merit – Daniel Kyne (DCUBS, MINT) & Darragh O’Flaherty (School of Computing, BSc Computer Applications) co-founders of OpinionX, an online platform for public consultation, facilitating citizen-led input to better inform political decision making. The platform promotes digital democracy and brings together democratic activism with social entrepreneurship through a civic technology platform. 

To learn more about  winners and see project posters visit: