DCU’s Moot Court Grand Final 2019

BCL Year 2 Team Clinches Moot Court Grand Final

A team of second-year BCL students representing the Appellants in an employers' negligence-themed moot triumphed in last week’s Moot Court Grand Final, which took place at the Helix.

DCU’s Moot Court Grand Final, sponsored by Matheson, saw eight second-year law students from DCU’s School of Law and Government go head-to-head to present oral submissions on a case involving employers' negligence.

Proceedings were judged by Mr Justice John MacMenamin of the Supreme Court, who described the standard of mooting as "exceptional", Roisin Lacey SC, and Matheson’s Pat Dineen.

Cai O'Kane, Niamh Hayes, Conor Clarke and Sophie Wadding, representing the Appellants, were named winners, with Conor Clarke being awarded Best Speaker.

The Respondent was represented by Shauna Murray, Mathew Somers, Emily Kelly and Nkosilathi Ndebele. 

Mr Justice John MacMenamin, who was recently appointed as DCU's new Judge-in-Residence, was officially welcomed into the role on the night by DCU President, Professor Brian MacCraith.

28th March, 2019