Primary Department
School of Physical Sciences
Emeritus Staff
Phone number: 01 700
700 5305
Glasnevin Campus
Room Number

Academic biography

Short biography: Professor Emeritus Eugene T. Kennedy
Eugene Kennedy joined Dublin City University (then NIHE Dublin) in 1980, as one of its first members of academic staff: Appointed Professor of Physics in 1986; Head of School (1986-1999); Dean of the Faculty (1987-1994); Founding Director of the National Centre for Plasma Science and Technology (1999); Vice-President for Research (2004-2011). He has been involved in a wide range of national and international activities. Examples include: Chair of the Basic Science Evaluation Board for Physics and Engineering; Governance Board of the National Digital Research Centre; Chair of the Radiological Protection Institute of Ireland; Independent Assessment Panel for the National Research Prioritization Programme; Assessment Panel BRITE EURAM; EU Fusion Programme Evaluation Board, ESFRI Working Group on X-ray Free Electron Lasers; International Advisory Board 4GLS Facility (UK); Euratom Scientific and Technical Committee. Elected Fellow of the Institute of Physics (London) in 1987 and Member of the Royal Irish Academy in 2004. Elected Secretary for Science for four years (2011-2015), followed by two years as Academy Secretary. Professor Kennedy has published widely on the interaction of short wavelength light with atoms and ions and on applications of laser-generated plasmas. He has delivered invited talks at conferences and workshops, coordinated EU research networks and been a visiting researcher at NIST (Wash. DC), HASYLAB/DESY (Hamburg), LURE/SOLEIL (Paris) and ALS (Berkeley)