People 2019-2020

It was a year of change for the leadership of DCU, as Prof Brian MacCraith’s ten-year term as University President came to an end. His tenure saw a major expansion of the University, with the addition of 3 campuses: the St. Patrick’s Campus, the All Hallows Campus, and DCU Alpha, the University’s Innovation Campus. He oversaw the incorporation of St Patrick’s College Drumcondra, Mater Dei Institute of Education, and the Church of Ireland College of Education, and the establishment of Ireland’s first Faculty of Education, DCU Institute of Education. To mark the conclusion of Prof MacCraith’s tenure, the University held a virtual farewell ceremony, titled Ómós in which he reflected on his time at DCU, which began when he joined the staff as a Physics professor in 1986.


DCU’s Deputy President, Prof Daire Keogh, was appointed as the University’s new President, taking up the position in the summer of 2020. Previously, Prof Keogh was President of St Patrick’s College Drumcondra from 2012 until 2016 when the college was incorporated into DCU. Prof Anne Sinnott was appointed as Deputy President of the University. Speaking as began work in his new role Prof Keogh said: “As a university we have excellent principles and exceptional people, students, staff, and supporters. Together, we will build on DCU’s deserved reputation as an engaged and innovative university, committed to the advancement of Irish life.”


It was a year to celebrate success and greet new faces at DCU. Dr Roderic O'Gorman, former staff member at the DCU School of Law and Government, was elected as a TD for the Green Party, and went on to be appointed Minister for Children in the newly formed government. Well known businessman Eamonn Quinn was appointed chair of DCU Educational Trust. DCU conferred an honorary doctorate on the manager of the Dublin Men’s Senior Football team, Jim Gavin. The University welcomed its first Visual Artists in Residence Mandy O’Neill and Joanna Hopkins. The DCU Community was also deeply saddened by the death of Dr Aonghus Cheevers, a much liked and respected lecturer in the School of Law and Government.

Each year, DCU honours exceptional individuals and teams for their contributions to the mission of the University. Virtual ceremonies celebrated the President’s Awards for  Innovation and Engagement, the President’s Awards for Research and Research Impact, the President’s Awards for Teaching and Learning.