President's Annual Awards | President's Office

The annual DCU President’s Awards are awarded to staff and students who have been recognised for their outstanding contributions in their fields of endeavour and in the pursuit of DCU’s mission to transform lives and societies.

President's Awards for Research 2021

Early Career Researcher Category: Dr Lisa van der Werff, DCU Business School

Science, Engineering and Computing Category: Prof Gareth Jones, School of Computing

Humanities, Business, Education Category: Prof Federico Fabbrini, School of Law and Government and Director of the DCU Brexit Institute.


President's Awards for Impact 2021

Prof James O’Higgins Norman, National Anti Bullying Research and Resource Centre and UNESCO Chair on Tackling Bullying in Schools and Cyberspace.

Dr Carol Barron, School of Nursing, Psychotherapy and Community Health. 

Dr Diarmuid Torney, School of Law and Government.


President's Awards for Engagement 2021

Staff Award: Dr Martin Brown and Dr Paddy Shevlin, School of Policy & Practice at DCU Institute of Education, for the DCU/EQI Shaped Professional Learning Network. 

Staff Special Mention: PE at HomeTeam members: Dr Sarahjane Belton, Dr Maura Coulter, Dr Úna Britton, Mr Nathan Gavigan, Dr Áine MacNamara, Dr Mika Manninen and Dr Bronagh McGrane, DCU School of Health & Human Performance.

Student Award: DCU Neurodivergent Society. Team members: Ross Boyd, Jenny Dunwoody, Luke Conlon, Laoċín Brennan, Oskars Veide, Conor Marsh, Mia Duffy, Derek Walsh.

Student Special Mention: Cathal Canavan, (Bachelor of Business Studies) for his contribution to Social Entrepreneurship.


President's Awards for Innovation 2021

Undergraduate Category: Seán Fradl for the creation of Equine App.

Postgraduate Category: Mohammad Hosseini for the creation of the MyCites a digital tool. 

Administrative & Support Staff Category: Mark Argue, DCU Estates, for campus energy saving initiatives. 

Academic & Research Staff Category: Dr Gary McDarby, Insight SFI Research Centre for Data Analytics for the creation of the EdgeAI Project. 


President’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching and Learning 2021

Overall Academic Award for Excellence in Teaching: Dr Monica Ward, School of Computing

New Lecturer: Aishling Silke, School of Language Literacy and Early Childhood Education, Institute of Education 

Distinctive Approaches to Teaching: David Kennedy, School of Human Development 

Distinctive Approaches to Assessment: Dr Barbara Dignam, School of Theology, Philosophy and Music 

Distinctive Approaches to Innovation in Teaching: Dr Diarmuid Torney, School of Law & Government 

Teaching Support: Dr Cameron Peers, Faculty of Science and Health

Team: B.Rel.Ed. School Placement/TOP Online Programme Team, School of Policy and Practice - Dr Audrey Doyle, Dr Enda Donlon, Marie Conroy Johnson, Dr PJ Sexton, Dr Elaine McDonald.