Strategic Research Partnerships

In 2013, DCU and Arizona State University entered into a Transatlantic Higher Education Partnership. Building on 8 years of collaboration, the partnership promises students a unique education and research experience and it seeks to have a positive impact on the economies and communities in Ireland and Arizona. For further information, please click here.

DCU is also a member of a number of international university networks that align with DCU’s vision and values as a young, ambitious university of enterprise and transformation. These are:

ECIU Research Activity

DCU is one of 12 partners working together to build the ECIU University, an initiative of the European Consortium of Innovative Universities (ECIU Alliance) that aims to create a ground-breaking and innovative educational model on a European scale. The first pilot phase of the project (2019-2022) is co-funded by the European Commission as part of the Erasmus+ programme.

The ultimate goal of the ECIU University project is to establish a true European University where learners, researchers, business, public organisations and citizens are enabled to create relevant innovative solutions for real life challenges with real societal impact.

As Lead for Work Package 2 (Challenge-Based Research), DCU is playing an instrumental role in the development of ECIU University research, and the ECIU University will provide new opportunities for researchers in DCU, notably to collaborate with colleagues from any of the other member institutions on ambitious research projects. ECIU University research is challenge-based, relevant to societal challenges and impactful.

Besides DCU, member institutions include: Aalborg University (Denmark), Hamburg University of Technology (Germany), Institut National des Sciences Appliquées (France), Kaunas University of Technology (Lithunia), Linköping University (Sweden), Tampere University (Finland), Autonomous University of Barcelona (Spain/Catalonia), Aveiro University (Portugal), University of Stavanger (Norway), Trento University (Italy), University of Twente (Netherlands), and associate member Tecnológico de Monterrey (Mexico).

Alongside the development of the ECIU University, the ECIU Alliance is working on developing SMART-ER, the ECIU University Research Institute for Smart European Regions. This project is funded by a Horizon 2020 Swafs grant (2021-2024).

The SMART-ER Research Institute will implement a new model of barrier-free research. It will promote a dialogue with society, to help overcome the limitations of disciplines, sectors and countries being mainly based on a virtual collaborative environment. Jointly, the institutions will pilot capacity building programmes (Seed Programme and SMART-ER Academy) and citizen science initiatives that will be used as a testbed to put into practice all the mechanisms and structures built.

Researchers can already apply to the ECIU Researchers Mobility Fund, with a rolling deadline until 2023.  Researchers, Ph.D. students, and research support staff at any member institution of the ECIU University may apply to cover travels and associated costs to visit other member institutions to establish and extend collaboration for research