Accessibility     Accessibility
My DCU | Library | Loop |

☰       Show/Hide Menu

☰       Department Menu

Research Support


Research Support is located on both the DCU Glasnevin and St. Patrick's Campuses.

You can contact us at:

DCU Glasnevin Campus:

Invent Building, DCU, Glasnevin, Dublin 9.


Ph: +353 1 7008000; Fax: + 353 1 7008002

DCU St. Patrick's Campus:

FG26, DCU, St. Patrick's Campus, Drumcondra, Dublin 9.


Ph: +353 1 8842262; Fax +353 1 7008002 

How to find us 

Team Member Roles

Fiona Morrissey

Ms. Fiona Morrissey


Fiona Morrissey is the Primary Point of Contact for Research Support. She is the administrator for the Research Support Office and provides assistance to the Research Support team, the Vice President for Research and Innovation, the Director of Research Support. 

Isabel Hidalgo

Ms. Isabel Hidalgo

Isabel Hidalgo manages all our Research Information Systems, including Research Professional, the new Research Engine, the Internal Proposal Approval System and the Research Support system for awards, and is leading the upgrade to our new grant management system that will go live in 2017.

Helen Burke

Dr. Helen Burke

Dr. Helen Burke is the Contact Point for the Schools of Biotechnology, Health and Human Performance, and Nursing & Human Sciences and associated Research Centres. She is the Call Manager for health funders including Wellcome Trust, HRB, Irish Cancer Society etc., as well as Fulbright and H2020 Societal Challenges in Health and Food/Agriculture. 

David Fitzpatric

David Fitzpatrick 

David Fitzpatrick is the Contact Point for the Faculty of Engineering and Computing and associated Research Centres. He manages Enterprise Ireland funding calls, SFI Industry-related calls (TIDA, Industry Fellowships etc.) and H2020 Societal Challenge in Security, and FET and DG Connect (ICT). 

Kieran ODwyer

Mr. Kieran O'Dwyer

Kieran O’Dwyer is the Contact Point for DCU Business School  and manages the legal agreements with Industry for collaborative and contract research, as well as EU consortium agreements. He is the call manager for all H2020 calls in the Industrial Leadership Pillar.  

 Ecaterina McDonagh

Dr. Ecaterina McDonagh (Katya)

Dr. Katya McDonagh is the Contact Point for the Faculty of the Humanities and Social Sciences and associated Research Centres. She manages the Irish Research Council calls, as well as H2020 Marie Curie Calls, COST and the Societal Challenges for Inclusive Societies.   

Fiona Brennan

Ms. Fiona Brennan

Fiona Brennan is the Contact Point for Schools of Chemical Sciences, Physical Sciences and Mathematical Sciences, and associated Research Centres. She is the Call Manager for Science Foundation Ireland, HEA (PRTLI), Environmental Protection Agency, Marine Institute, Sustainable Energy Authority of Ireland and H2020 Societal Challenges in Climate Action and Energy.  

Jane Carrigan

Dr. Jane Carrigan

Dr. Jane Carrigan is the Contact Point for the Institute of Education and associated Research Centres. She is the call manager for ERASMUS+, EACEA and ERC programmes, as well as Royal Irish Academy calls. She is based on St Patrick’s Campus and provides support for proposal development and funding diversification in the Institute. 


Director of Research 

The Director of Research supports the Vice-President for Research and Innovation with the implementation of the DCU Research Strategy, manages the Research Support team and oversees the direction of the support teams (Research Administration and Research Facilities and Infrastructure) at the Science and Technology Enhancement Platform.

 Greg Hughes

Prof. Greg Hughes

Prof. Greg Hughes is the Vice-President for Research and Innovation. The VPRI is responsible for the ongoing advancement of the DCU’s research and innovation strategy, champions a culture of research and coordinates research initiatives within the university, and represents the university in its engagement with external bodies and funding agencies.