Science and Health Graduate Training Elements

Click on the blue arrows below to view a list of Graduate Training Element (GTE) modules that postgraduate research students may take in the academic year 2021/22.  If you are undertaking a structured PhD programme the minimum credits you should undertake during the course of your PhD is 20 credits.  The modules listed below range from 5-10 credits and it is recommended you sign up for 1-2 modules per year of your PhD programme. 

When considering training needs, students, should use the school specific structured pathway as a guide. Please consult with your supervisor before you sign up for any GTE modules so that you receive advice on which modules to take in relation to your research. 

To register go to the online registration page available via student apps during the registration period in September.


 

 

Module Code Module Name Semester Credits Module Co-ordinator Module Co-Ordinators email address
BE515 Fundamentals of Bioreaction Engineering 1 5 David Collins

david.collins@dcu.ie

BE516 Bioseparations 2 5 David Collins david.collins@dcu.ie
BE517 Recombinant DNA Technology 1 5 Dermot Walls dermot.walls@dcu.ie
BE519 Fundamental and Applied Immunology 1 5 Michael Freeley michael.freeley@dcu.ie
BE521AU Applied Biostatistics 2 5 Emma Finlay emma.finlay@dcu.ie
BE533 Molecular Biology Methods & Genes; The Basics 1 5 Anne Parle McDermott anne.parle-mcdermott@dcu.ie
BE535 Precision Medicine 1 1 10 Alex Eustace alex.eustace@dcu.ie
BE536 Precision Medicine 2 2 10 Michael Freeley michael.freeley@dcu.ie
BE537 Professional Skills for Scientists 2 5 Michael Freeley michael.freeley@dcu.ie
BE538 Intro to Cell Biology and Biotechnology 1 5 Michael Freeley michael.freeley@dcu.ie
BE539AU Translational Bioinformatics 2 5 Emma Finlay

emma.finlay@dcu.ie

BE550 Biosafety & Lab Standard Operating Procedures Year Long 5 Anne Parle McDermott anne.parle-mcdermott@dcu.ie
BE570 Computational Science Year Long 5 Tim Downing tim.downing@dcu.ie
BE580 Introduction to Bioprocess Engineering 1 5 Burcu Gunes burcu.gunes@dcu.ie
BE581 Bioprocess Scale Up & Technology Transfer 2 5 David Collins david.collins@dcu.ie
BE583 Biopharmaceutical Industry Regulation & Mgt 2 5 Brian Freeland brian.freeland@dcu.ie
BE584 Bioreactor Design, Modelling & Monitoring 1 5 Brian Freeland brian.freeland@dcu.ie
BT607 Laboratory Tutoring (FSH) (Final Year) 7 - Summer 10 Paul Cahill paul.cahill@dcu.ie
BT6071 Laboratory Tutoring (FSH) - Year 1 7 - Summer 0 Paul Cahill paul.cahill@dcu.ie
BT6072 Laboratory Tutoring (FSH) - Year 2 7 - Summer 0 Paul Cahill paul.cahill@dcu.ie
CS607 Laboratory Tutoring (FSH) (Final Year) 7 - Summer 10 Joaquin Klug joaquin.klug@dcu.ie
CS6071 Laboratory Tutoring (FSH) - Year 1 7 - Summer 0 Joaquin Klug joaquin.klug@dcu.ie
CS6072 Laboratory Tutoring (FSH) - Year 2 7 - Summer 0 Joaquin Klug

joaquin.klug@dcu.ie

CS608 Strategies for Academic Writing 7 - Summer 5 Kieran Nolan kieran.nolan@dcu.ie
MS508 Probability and Finance II (Advanced) 1 7.5 John Appleby john.appleby@dcu.ie
MS509 Partial Differential Equations 1 7.5 Turlough Downes turlough.downes@dcu.ie
MS525 Fixed Income Securities (Advanced) 2 7.5 Paulo Guasoni paolo.guasoni@dcu.ie
MS526 Stochastic Finance (Advanced) 2 7.5 Paulo Guasoni paolo.guasoni@dcu.ie
MS527 Financial and Acturaial Data Analsyis (Advanced) 1 7.5 Paulo Guasoni paolo.guasoni@dcu.ie
MS537 Probability and Finance I (Advanced) 1 7.5 John Appleby john.appleby@dcu.ie
MS547 Time Series Advanced 2 7.5 John Appleby john.appleby@dcu.ie
MS555 Simulation for Finance 1 7.5 Kwok Chuen Wong kwokchuen.wong@dcu.ie
MS556 Deep Learning 2 7.5 Vladimir Krylov vladimir.krylov@dcu.ie
NS5017 Couples Therapy – An Integrative Approach 2 5 Rita Glover rita.glover@dcu.ie
NS5018 Psychotherapy and Mental Health 1 5 Ray O'Neill ray.oneill@dcu.ie
NS5025 Humanistic Approaches:Theory & Practice 1 5 Aisling McMahon aisling.mcmahon@dcu.ie
NS5036 Psychosexual Integrative Practice 1 5 Rita Glover rita.glover@dcu.ie
NS5055 Qualitative Research Summer School 7 - Summer 5 Mary Kelly mary.t.kelly@dcu.ie
NS572 Psychodynamic Approaches Theory & Practice 2 5 Gerry Moore gerry.moore@dcu.ie
NS582 Integrative Psychotherapy 1 2 5 Aisling McMahon aisling.mcmahon@dcu.ie
NS584 Cognitive & Behavioural Approaches 2 5 Gemma Kiernan gemma.kiernan@dcu.ie
NS585 Systemic Approaches:Theory & Practice 1 5 Evelyn Gordon

evelyn.gordon@dcu.ie

NS587 Research Inquiry 2 5 Gemma Kiernan gemma.kiernan@dcu.ie
PS522 Microfluidics2 1 5 Jens Ducree jens.ducree@dcu.ie
PS523 Applied Spectroscopy 2 Year Long 5 Albert Ellingboe albert.ellingboe@dcu.ie
PS525 Nanotechnology and Surface Analysis 2 2 5 Karsten Fleischer karsten.fleischer@dcu.ie
PS607 Laboratory Tutoring (FSH) (Final Year) 7 - Summer 10 Eilish McLoughlin eilish.mcloughlin@dcu.ie
PS6071 Laboratory Tutoring (FSH) - Year 1 7 - Summer 0 Eilish McLoughlin eilish.mcloughlin@dcu.ie
PS6072 Laboratory Tutoring (FSH) - Year 2 7 - Summer 0 Eilish McLoughlin eilish.mcloughlin@dcu.ie
PSYC515 Specialist Review in Psychology & Well-being Year Long 15 Catherine Fassbender catherine.fassbender@dcu.ie
PSYC516 Advanced Psychological Research Methods Year Long 10 Catherine Fassbender catherine.fassbender@dcu.ie
PSYC517 Environmental influences on well-being 1 10 Sinead Smyth sinead.smyth@dcu.ie
PSYC518 Communities and Wellbeing 2 10 Louise Hopper louise.hopper@dcu.ie
PSYC519 Evidence-based psychologial practice 2 10 Brian Slattery brian.slattery@dcu.ie
PSYC521 Advanced Research Skills (Psychology) 7 - Summer 10 Lorraine Boran lorraine.boran@dcu.ie
PSYC523 Science Communication for Graduate Researchers 7 - Summer 5 Lorraine Boran lorraine.boran@dcu.ie
PSYC609 Strategies for Getting Published 7 - Summer 5 Pamela Gallagher pamela.gallagher@dcu.ie
MS536 Differential geometry and general relativity 1 7.5 Brien Nolan brien.nolan@dcu.ie
MS539 Advanced general relativity 1 2 7.5 Abraham Harte abraham.harte@dcu.ie
MS540 Advanced general relativity 2 2 5 Peter Taylor peter.taylor@dcu.ie

 

To register for non-FSH modules you MUST first email the module coordinator listed to check that you are eligible to register for this module, then email science@dcu.ie providing:

  • confirmation and proof of approval from module coordinator 

  • module code and title

  • student id number 

  • qualification code 

 You will not be able to register for non FSH modules unless you follow these steps. 

Module Code Module Name Semester Credits Module Co-ordinator Email Address
MT610 Qualitative Research Methods Semester 2 5 Maura McAdam maura.mcadam@dcu.ie
MT611 Quantitative Research Methods Semester 2 5 Damien Dupré damien.dupre@dcu.ie
HR610 Personal, Professional Planning & Development Semester 2 5 Michael Joseph Moran michaeljoseph.moran@dcu.ie

GS608BS

Strategies for Academic Writing Semester 2 5 Teresa Hogan teresa.hogan@dcu.ie
MM600 Labview, Data Acquisition, Analysis & Control Semester 2 7.5 Dermot Brabazon dermot.brabazon@dcu.ie
CA637 Advanced Scientific Communication Skills Semester 2 5 Cathal Gurrin cathal.gurrin@dcu.ie
CM602 Engaged Research Semester 1 10 Padraig Murphy padraig.murphy@dcu.ie
LG602 Quantitative Methods for Social sciences 1 Semester 2 5 Alex Baturo alex.baturo@dcu.ie
LG608 Reserach Methods Semester 2 5 Iain McMenamin iain.mcmenamin@dcu.ie
LG609 Research Design for the Social Sciences

Semester 1

5 Iain McMenamin iain.mcmenamin@dcu.ie
LC600 English for Academic Purposes Summer 5 Fiona Gallagher fiona.gallagher@dcu.ie
TB602 Research Ethics Semester 2 5 Bert Gordijn bert.gordijn@dcu.ie
GS602 Postgraduate Tutor / Demonstrator Course Semester 1 5 Fiona O'Riordan fiona.m.oriordan@dcu.ie
GS601 Intellectual Property and Commercialisation module Semester 2 5 Teresa Hogan teresa.hogan@dcu.ie

 

Faculty GTE programmes can contain a wide listing of modules for a student to choose from. As such, all schools have introduced structured ‘pathways’ that draw on the most relevant and appropriate modules from the faculty programme for that particular discipline