DCU Sustainability Council

To ensure sustainability is at the core of everything we do at DCU, the members of our Sustainability Council come from all parts of our university. They represent staff and students, and academic and operational areas.

The Council developed our Sustainability Charter and our Climate Action Plan (2022-2026) to show our commitment to transformation, and to inspire and empower everyone at DCU to address the challenges of climate change.

Set up in 2018 and responsible for stewarding sustainability at DCU, the council meets four times a year to:

  • review current initiatives, including the Climate Action Plan, to ensure they are performing as planned
  • discuss opportunities and proposed initiatives to examine if they are worthwhile and will actively help DCU to achieve its ambitious targets
  • continually shape our sustainability strategy in response to the ever-shifting landscape of operations


Members of the Sustainability Council (2021-2022)

Permanent members

Chief Operations Officer/Council Chair

Director of Sustainability and Transport/Secretary


Academic staff representatives (6)

DCU Business School

DCU Business School

Faculty of Engineering and Computing

Faculty of Engineering and Computing

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Faculty of Science and Health

Faculty of Science and Health

Institute of Education


DCU Estates Office (3)

Operations Manager

Estates Officer

General Service Manager


Support and service offices (7)

Academic Affairs

Research and Innovation




Quality Office



Students’ Union (2)


VP Community & Citizenship


Recording secretary (1)