Learning Innovation Unit, Dublin City University

Learning Innovation Unit

President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching 2009/2010

Deadline for nominations: 6th April 2010 at 5pm 

Have you ever wanted to reward a DCU staff member who has impacted on you as a learner?

Have you been inspired by the teaching practice and support of a DCU colleague?

The President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching recognise outstanding contributions to DCU's Teaching and Learning activities (see What is Teaching Excellence?). If you are aware of a member of staff who has made a significant impact on student learning in DCU, this is your opportunity to highlight that contribution.

Winners of the 2009 President's Awards
President's Award for Excellence in Teaching and Learning Award Winners 2009.

From left to right: Conor Sullivan (Winner in the Academic Support Category); Cris Guntín (Winner in the Academic Category); Prof. Richard O'Kennedy (Vice President for Learning Innovation); Aoife Morrin, Blanáid White (Winners in the New Lecturers/Tutors Category)

Key information

  • There are three award categories: Academic StaffNew Lecturers/Tutors (with less than 3 years teaching experience) and Academic Support Staff.
  • Staff nominated under the Academic staff category will be invited to augment their nomination(s) with a short supporting document (Deadline for submissions 9am on 19th April 2010). 
  • A nomination can be made for an individual member of staff or a team.
  • An individual or team may be nominated more than once.
  • Nominations can be made by an individual member of DCU staff, DCU students, DCU alumni, or any combination of these.
  • Nominations will be considerably strengthened if they include student testimonials.
  • Evaluations will be conducted by a panel comprised of a subgroup of the Learning Innovation Advisory Panel (LIAP) and an external evaluator from another third-level institution.
  • Award recipients will receive a teaching enhancement grant, to be used to further enhance the winner’s teaching practice and/or student learning: Academic Staff - €8000, New Lecturers/Tutors - €2,500, Academic Support Staff - €2,500.
  • Winners will also receive a commemorative piece of Tipperary Crystal and nominees will receive a commemorative piece of Newbridge Silver.
  • Awards will be presented by the University President at the annual Teaching and Learning Day in May 2010.

How to nominate

Additional information