Learning Innovation Unit, Dublin City University

Learning Innovation Unit

President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching 2010/2011

Deadline for receipt of nominations: 15th April 2011 at 9am

Have you ever wanted to reward a DCU staff member who has impacted on you as a learner?

Have you been inspired by the teaching practice and support of a DCU colleague?

The President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching recognise outstanding contributions to DCU's Teaching and Learning activities (see What is Teaching Excellence?). If you are aware of a member of staff who has made a significant impact on student learning in DCU, this is your opportunity to highlight that contribution.

Winners of the 2010 President's Awards
President's Award for Excellence in Teaching and Learning Award Winners 2010.

From left to right: Michael Breen, Dr Paul van Kampen, Professor Richard O’Kennedy, Professor Ferdinand von Prondzynski, Dr Brian Harney and Colette Lyng.

Key information

  • Deadline for receipt of nominations: 15th April 2011 at 9am
  • There are three award categories: Academic StaffNew Lecturers/Tutors (with less than 3 years teaching experience) and Academic Support Staff.
  • Staff nominated under the Academic staff and New Lecturers?Tutors categories will be invited to augment their nomination(s) with a short supporting document (Deadline for submissions 9am on 25th April 2011). 
  • A nomination can be made for an individual member of staff or a team.
  • An individual or team may be nominated more than once.
  • Nominations can be made by an individual member of DCU staff, DCU students, DCU alumni, or any combination of these.
  • Nominations will be considerably strengthened if they include student testimonials.
  • Evaluations will be conducted by a panel comprised of a subgroup of the Learning Innovation Advisory Panel (LIAP) and an external evaluator from another third-level institution.
  • Award recipients will receive a teaching enhancement grant, to be used to further enhance the winner’s teaching practice and/or student learning: Academic Staff - €8000, New Lecturers/Tutors - €2,500, Academic Support Staff - €2,500.
  • Winners will also receive a commemorative piece of Tipperary Crystal and nominees will receive a commemorative piece of Newbridge Silver.
  • Awards will be presented by the University President at the annual Teaching and Learning Day on 11th May 2011.

How to nominate

Additional information