Learning Innovation Unit, Dublin City University

Learning Innovation Unit

DCU Learning Innovation Fund (LIF) 2010/2011
President's Award for Excellence in Teaching and Learning

Award Winners

Innovation and excellence in teaching and learning at DCU were celebrated at this year’s annual Teaching and Learning Day and President’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching which took place on 11th May 2011.. 

Each award consists of a formal citation, together with a prize of €8,000 for the Academic Award, €2,500 for the New Lecturers/Tutors Award and €2,500 for the award to Teaching Support staff. The category winners also received an inscribed piece of Louise Kennedy crystal and all nominees received a commemorative piece of Newbridge Silverware. The awards were presented at the annual Teaching and Learning Day on 3rd June, 2010 in the Helix.

Winners of The 2011 DCU President's Awards for Excellence in Teaching
From left to right: Dr. Theo Lynn,  Sean Donelly, Rosmemary Clancy, Prof. Brian MacCraith, Yvonne Crotty, James Fitzgerald

More photographs are available via our Facebook page.

The award winners were:

Academic Category: Yvonne Crotty, School of Education Studies

For her supportive approach, her use of technology in her teaching, for encouraging collaboration and peer evaluation within her classes, and for her provision of feedback to students.    

 Full Citation (PDF)

New Tutors/Lecturers Category: James Fitzgerald, School of Law and Government

For his engaging teaching style, his in-depth knowledge of his subject, for encouraging students to participate in class, and for his creative use of technology.

Full Citation (PDF)

Academic Support Staff Category: Techspectations Team DCUBS - Rosemary Clancy, Sean Donnelly and Theo Lynn

For ensuring that students’ learning is supported by relevant, up-to-date and practical experiences:  

Full Citation (PDF)

Excerpts from the nominations in the academic, new lecturers and academic support categories are also available: