Educational Disadvantage Centre header
Educational Disadvantage Centre

National Working Group for a National Strategy for the Arts and Social Inclusion in Education

A National Working Group for a National Strategy for the Arts and Social Inclusion in Education has recently been established by DCU's Educational Disadvantage Centre. The Group is composed of key leaders in the Arts and Social Inclusion in Education sectors.

The National Working Group has published an agreed document, Key Dimensions of a National Strategic Commitment to the Arts for Social Inclusion, involving Afterschool Services for Marginalised Groups:  The Case for a National Strategy for the Arts and Social Inclusion in Education?

Members of the Working Group who have co-authored the discussion document are as follows:

Professor Paul Downes, Director, Educational Disadvantage Centre, Professor of Psychology of Education, DCU Institute of Education 

Noeleen Hartigan, Independent Strategy Consultant 

Colm Ó Cuanacháin, Fighting Words 

Olwen Dawe, Independent Strategy Consultant  

Elaina Ryan, Director Children's Books Ireland  

Saoirse Brady, Children's Rights Alliance 

Professor Deborah Kelleher, Director of Royal Irish Academy of Music

Moira Leydon, ASTI 

Aideen Howard, Director, The Ark  

Mark O'Brien

Gina O'Brien, Forsa 

Orla Doyle & Michael Kennedy, St Vincent’s Boy’s Infant School,  Dublin 1 (DEIS)

Clive Byrne, Dermot Carney, Paul Byrne & Paul Crone, National Association of Principals and Deputy Principals (NAPD)

Ciara Naughton, O’Connell’s Primary School/St Vincent’s Boys’ Infant School HSCL  

Dr Siobhan O'Reilly, Fiona Kearney & Alan Tully, Familibase, Ballyfermot

Dr Sylwia Kazmierczak, Cabra School Completion Programme

Liz Coman

Seána Brady, Sinead Crosson & Lauren O’Callaghan, Central Model Senior School, Dublin 1 (DEIS)  

Jennifer Cummins, Ballymun Anseo School Completion Programme

 Alison Rafferty, Central Model Infant School, Dublin 1 (DEIS) 

Cait Ni Mhurchu,  Kilkenny School Completion Programme 

Denise McCormilla, CEO, National Childhood Network 

Dr Irene White, DCU Institute of Education

Bronagh Fagan, DCU Educational Disadvantage Centre 

Sophia Cuddy Cullen, St Laurence O’Toole National School, Dublin 1 (DEIS)

Rose Duffy, Fionnuala Sinnott & Megan Wynne, Rutland National School, Dublin 1 (DEIS)

The discussion document has been submitted to the Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media, Catherine Martin and to Creative Ireland. A meeting was held with the Minister and Tania Banotti, CEO Creative Ireland in July 2021 to discuss the then draft discussion document in order to develop future policy initiatives in this area.