Educational Disadvantage Centre header
Educational Disadvantage Centre
EDC Graduation 2023

Maltese Education Ministry Fellowship M.Ed Graduates

Many congratulations to the 9 Maltese Education Ministry Fellowship Awardees with the Educational Disadvantage Centre, DCU Institute of Education, who have graduated from the M.Ed (Special Option, Poverty and Social Inclusion in Education) on October 26th,. 

These teachers and educators are all based in Maltese schools: Caroline Battistino,  Sharon Bonello,  Tai Busuttil,  Lorna Camilleri, Sarah Cuschieri, Bonnie Lepre,  Jonathan Mifsud, EliClaire Mikkelsen and Darlene Schembri. These Fellowship Awardees were selected from a national call for applications on the basis of interviews organised by the Maltese Ministry for Education, Sport, Youth, Research and Innovation, in conjunction with DCU's Educational Disadvantage Centre. It is envisaged that they will become national leaders contributing to policy development for early school leaving prevention and social inclusion in education, more widely. They have already engaged in dialogue with the Maltese Education Ministry on these issues, as part of their Fellowships, building from their work on the M.Ed.

The graduates are pictured in the photo with Professor Anne Lodge, Dr Susan Pike and Professor Paul Downes who led each of the Poverty and Social Inclusion special option modules.