Organisation Structure

DCU Library provides information, content, collection and library services and supports on 3 campuses.  We are responsible for 3 libraries; Cregan Library on St. Patrick's Campus; O'Reilly Library on Glasnevin Campus and Woodlock Hall Library on All Hallows Campus.

The Library has a staff of nearly 70 organised into 4 directorates. Staff details can be found here.

The Leadership team comprises the Librarian and the 4 Associate Directors who work together to look at all the key issues involved with running the organisation. The directors lead their own directorates and teams, in addition to shaping and forming the overall strategic direction of DCU Library.



University Librarian

The University Librarian has responsibility for the strategic direction and operational management of the Library and represents the Library on a number of internal and external boards and groups.

John McDonough is the DCU University Librarian.  He was appointed in August 2019. 

Planning & Administration unit

The Planning & Administration unit has responsibility for financial, HR, reporting and governance functions.  It is the main link to the University Finance and HR Units. The Unit supports the work of the Library Management Team with regard to annual planning activities and the availability of management information.

The Assistant Librarian is Samantha Groves.

Collections & Digital Services (C&DS)

This Directorate has responsibility for acquiring, processing and maintaining access to print and electronic collections.  It has responsibility for the Library digital information systems and ensuring these are online and available.  

The Associate Director is Mary Kiely.

The Assistant Librarians are Ronan Cox, Amanda Halpin and Victoria Smyth.

Public Services & Outreach (PS&O)

This Directorate manages the issue and information desk functions where users can engage directly or online with staff to assist in answering requests and queries. The Directorate also manages the outreach and events functions in addition to the website and social media channels.

The Associate Director is Orla Nic Aodha.

The Assistant Librarians are Shauna McDermott and Eilís O'Neill.

Special Collections & Archives (SC&A)

This Directorate manages and develops the Library’s archives strategy and the acquisition of legacy and new special collections and archive collections.  The directorate contributes to the Library’s digitisation and digital humanities strategies. 

The Associate Director is David Meehan.

The Assistant Librarians are Laura Ryan & Encarna Moral. The Archivist is Killian Downing.

Research & Teaching (R&T)

This Directorate supports and partners with Schools and Faculties in delivering value added subject services and supports including digital literacy, citation and referencing and research services.  The Directorate also manages the DCU Press and the DORAS Open Access Repository.

The Associate Director is Ellen Breen.  Liam O'Dwyer is the Open Research Librarian and a list of the Subject Librarians can be found here.